Justin Jackson was named team MVP on Tuesday night.
Justin Jackson was named team MVP on Tuesday night.
View larger
Tar Heels Celebrate NCAA Title At Awards Ceremony
Release: 04/19/2017

CHAPEL HILL – Justin Jackson, the 18th consensus first-team All-America in University of North Carolina history, and the third Tar Heel to win ACC Player of the Year honors and win an NCAA title in the same year, received the 2017 Dean Smith Most Valuable Player Award at the annual awards ceremony held on Tuesday evening at the Carolina Inn.

Junior point guard Joel Berry II, the Most Outstanding Player of the 2017 Final Four, was named the team’s captain (John Lotz Award). He is the first non-senior to be named a UNC captain in a national championship season.

Senior Nate Britt won the Marvin Williams Carolina Way Award and the George Lynch Award as the team’s best defender.

Sophomore forward Luke Maye, the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA South Regional, won the Tyler Zeller Scholar-Athlete Award and the Danny Green Most Improved Player Award.

Britt, Kanler Coker, Isaiah Hicks, Kennedy Meeks and Stilman White received Richard A. Baddour Senior Awards.


Statistical Award winners included:

Brad Daugherty Award for the Highest Field Goal Percentage: Isaiah Hicks – .576

Kendall Marshall Award for Most Assists: Joel Berry II – 138 assists

Hubert Davis Award for the Highest Three-Point Field Goal Percentage: Berry – .383

Shammond Williams Award for the Highest Free Throw Percentage: Hicks – .774

Brendan Haywood Award for the Most Blocked Shots: Kennedy Meeks – 47 blocks

Billy Cunningham Award for the Most Rebounds: Meeks – 378 rebounds

Tyler Hansbrough Award as the Team’s Leading Scorer: Justin Jackson – 18.3 points per game

UNC North Carolina Men's Basketball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016