Aly Messinger was one of 27 Tar Heels on the list.
Aly Messinger was one of 27 Tar Heels on the list.
View larger
28 Tar Heels Named To ACC Honor Roll
Release: 08/07/2014

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Twenty-seven University of North Carolina women's lacrosse players earned spots on the 2013-14 Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Honor Roll, announced on Thursday by the league. A record 347 UNC student-athletes earned the honor, up from last year's record 329.

Women's lacrosse players on the 2013-14 ACC Academic Honor Roll include Alyssa Andress, Maggie Auslander, Kate Burbank, Brittney Coppa, Margaret Corzel, Kelly Devlin, Mallory Frysinger, Taylor George, Eileen Giles, Paige Hanson, Sydney Holman, Katie Kinsey, Stephanie Lobb, Devin MarkisonSophie McCoy, Sam McGee, Aly Messinger, Kayla Miles, Paige Patterson, Morgan Rubin, Paula Schmidt, Sarah Scott, Sloane Serpe, Caileigh Sindall, Zoe Skinner, Courtney Waite, Megan Ward and Maddie Zeigler.

"All of us in the Academic Support Program and the Department of Athletics are proud of the UNC student-athletes who have earned this honor," said Michelle Brown, Director of the Academic Support Program. "They do an outstanding job of balancing their responsibilities and excelling in both athletics and academics. I'm very pleased that we've had a record number of student-athletes honored the past two years - it's our goal to keep increasing the number of Tar Heel student-athletes who are recognized."

The ACC Academic Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.0 or better for the full academic year. A record 3,967 student-athletes earned spots on the 58th annual list.

Duke led all schools with an ACC-record 494 student-athletes recognized, eclipsing its own mark of 474 set last year. Boston College followed with 402 honorees, and Notre Dame saw 397 student-athletes achieve Honor Roll status following its first year of ACC membership.

North Carolina saw 347 student-athletes recognized, followed by Virginia with 305, Virginia Tech with 232, NC State with 230, Syracuse with 229, Maryland with 224, Pitt with 213, Florida State with 202, Clemson with 198, Wake Forest with 183, Georgia Tech with 159 and Miami with 152.

Four Tar Heels are among the 32 conference student-athletes honored for the fifth time in their careers. Those honored a fifth time were Meghan Drake (field hockey), Michelle Ikoma (gymnastics), Meredith Magjuka (gymnastics) and Ashley Miess (track and field).

Additionally, two Tar Heels were among the nine ACC Freshmen of the Year honored. They are Sydney Holman (women's lacrosse) and Hayley Carter (women's tennis).

For a list of all UNC student-athletes honored, click here.

For the complete ACC news release, click here.

For the complete ACC Academic Honor Roll, click here.

UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016