Donna Papa
UNC opens at 7 p.m. on Friday, May 19, vs. Arizona State.
UNC opens at 7 p.m. on Friday, May 19, vs. Arizona State.
View larger
Tar Heels Headed To Oxford, Miss., For NCAA Regionals
Release: 05/14/2017

INDIANAPOLIS – North Carolina received an at-large bid for the 2017 NCAA Tournament and will travel to Oxford, Mississippi, on May 19-21 for NCAA Regionals. Ole Miss receives the No. 12 overall seed for the NCAA Tournament and will play host to Arizona State and Southern Illinois in addition to the Heels. UNC will open the double-elimination weekend on Friday, May 19, at 7 p.m. against Arizona State live on ESPN.

UNC receives its 14th berth to the NCAA Tournament and third straight. Carolina (38-19) finished in a tie for third in the ACC regular-season standings and advanced to the ACC Championship game on Saturday, where it fell 4-3 to top-seeded No. 4 Florida State. The Seminoles received the No. 4 overall seed for the NCAA Tournament, while ACC Semifinalist Notre Dame heads to #7-seed Auburn as the third and final ACC team selected to this year's field.

North Carolina has faced Arizona State six times in program history but has never defeated the powerhouse Sun Devils. UNC fell, 7-4, to then-No. 3 ASU on March 2, 2013, in their only matchup in the past 10 years. The Heels will play ASU in the postseason for the first time ever. UNC is 2-0 all-time against Ole Miss, sweeping a home series on Leap Day in 2004. Carolina dropped a 3-2 decision to then-No. 23 Southern Illinois on Feb. 23, 2007, in their only ever meeting.

The winner of the Oxford Regional will advance to face the winner of #5-seed UCLA's region, which includes Lehigh, San Jose State and Cal State Fullerton, in a three-game series for Super Regionals. The eight Super Regional winners will head to Oklahoma City for the Women's College World Series.

Eleven of Carolina's 2017 opponents earned bids to the postseason, including #4-seed Florida State and #8-seed Tennessee. All 13 teams in the SEC received invitations to the NCAA Tournament, eight of which earned seeded. The Pac-12 followed with eight of its nine teams earning a bid, including five of the top-16 seeds.

NCAA Regionals Sites:
1. Florida
2. Arizona
3. Oregon
4. Florida State
6. Washington
7. Auburn
8. Tennessee
9. Texas A&M
10. Oklahoma
11. Utah
12. Ole Miss
13. LSU
14. Kentucky
15. BYU
16. Alabama

UNC North Carolina Softball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016