Zoe De Bruycker won two singles matches Saturday to advance.
Zoe De Bruycker won two singles matches Saturday to advance.
View larger
Heels Continue Strong Play At Regionals
Release: 10/20/2012

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. --- Zoe De Bruycker and Whitney Kay advanced to the singles quarterfinals and two Tar Heel doubles pairs advanced to the semifinals Saturday at the USTA/ITA Carolina Regional Championships at the Wake Forest Indoor Tennis Center. 

Lauren McHale and Tessa Lyons advanced with an 8-3 victory over Duke's fourth-seeded pair of Mary Clayton and Annie Mulholland. They were joined in the semis by Kay and fellow freshman Ashley Dai, who knocked off No. 5-8 seed Beatrice Gumulya and Yana Koroleva, 9-8 (5).

In singles, De Bruycker and Kay emerged from the final 32 with a pair of victories to move into Sunday's quarterfinals. 

De Bruycker opened with a 6-2, 6-2 win over Appalachian State's Ellie Linsell before needing three sets and a pair of tiebreaks to defeat No. 9-16 seed Gumulya of Clemson. After taking the opening set in a tiebreak, De Bruycker lost the second set in a tiebreak before taking the decider, 6-3.

The Saratoga, Calif., senior will face South Carolina's Katarina Popova in the quarterfinals as she looks to win the event for the second time in her career. De Bruycker won it in 2010 as a sophomore.

Kay scored a pair of straight-set wins over in-state foes to book her place in the quarters. The Alpharetta, Ga., freshman started play Saturday with a 6-3, 7-5 victory over UNC Wilmington's Angie Sekely. She then knocked off No. 9-16 seeded Mulholland of Duke, 6-4, 6-3, and will meet Clemson's Romy Koelzer in the quarters.

Koelzer defeated Dai in the round of 16, 6-3, 6-0, after the Tar Heel freshman won her first match of the day over ECU's Nicole Laduca, 6-0, 6-3. Lyons, McHale and Caroline Price also won second round matches before falling in the round of 16.

Play continues Sunday with doubles semifinal action and two rounds of singles play.

UNC North Carolina Women's Tennis

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016