Play Video
Paige Hanson is Carolina's second women's lacrosse winner of the Elite 89 Award.
Paige Hanson is Carolina's second women's lacrosse winner of the Elite 89 Award.
View larger
Paige Hanson Wins Elite 89 Award
Release: 05/23/2013

VILLANOVA, PA. - Paige Hanson, a junior attacker at the University of North Carolina, is the recipient of the Elite 89 Award for the 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Hanson, majoring in journalism and mass communications, currently carries a 3.801 GPA. She was presented with the award during the women's lacrosse banquet on Thursday evening in Villanova, Pa.

Paige is the third Tar Heel Elite 89 Award winner in this academic year, giving UNC more 2012-13 winners than any other school. 

Seven Tar Heels have won the award all-time:  Bill Dworsky (men's soccer, 2009), Kristi Eveland (women's soccer, 2009), Meredith Newton (women's lacrosse, 2010), Marta Malmberg (field hockey, 2011), Loren Shealy (field hockey, 2012), Caitlin Ball (women's soccer, 2012) and Hanson.

The Elite 89, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 89 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's championships.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

For more information on the Elite 89 award winners, log on to

UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016