UNC Women's Lacrosse Staff
Jenny Levy
Head Coach

Entering her 21st season, Jenny Levy is among the most accomplished coaches in NCAA women’s lacrosse annals. She is the fourth-winningest coach in NCAA Division I women’s lacrosse history and the fourth-winningest active coach in the nation. She has led the Tar Heels to eight appearances in the NCAA Tournament semifinals, including five in the last seven years.  Her 25 NCAA Tournament wins rank fifth in NCAA history.

In 2015, Carolina reached the national title game for the third time in the last seven campaigns, won the ACC regular season title and tied the school record for wins in a season.

Levy is the fourth coach in women’s lacrosse history to win an NCAA championship as a player (with Virginia in 1991) and as a head coach.

In 2013, Carolina beat defending national champion Northwestern 11-4 in an NCAA semifinal in Villanova, Pa., then bested top-ranked Maryland 13-12 in three overtimes for the title in one of the most thrilling games in the sport’s history. UNC finished the year 18-3, setting a program record for wins in a season. She earned national-coach-of-the-year honors from Inside Lacrosse, the IWLCA and Lacrosse Magazine.

In 2013, the Tar Heels finished No. 1 in the nation on the field, winning the NCAA title.  Paige Hanson put Carolina at the top in the classroom when she won the NCAA’s Elite 89 Award for having the best grade point average of any player at the 2013 NCAA semifinals.  Zoe Skinner won the Yeardley Love Unsung Hero Award for her prolific community service efforts.  

Former UNC players Kristen Carr, Amber Falcone and Jenn Russell won gold medals with the U.S. National Team at the 2013 World Cup.  Twelve current and former Tar Heels dotted the 108-player tryout pool for the 2015-16 National Team roster in June 2015, most of any school in the nation.

“Jenny is the reason our team is so close, talking to us whenever we need, bringing her kids to practice, and pushing us as a team; she treats us more like family than players,” says 2013 Honda Award winner Kara Cannizzaro.

The only head coach in UNC women’s lacrosse history and among the collegiate game’s most noted figures, Levy built the Tar Heel program from scratch.  

Levy has guided Carolina to 17 NCAA Tournament bids, eight NCAA Tournament semifinal appearances, an Atlantic Coast Conference title and the 2013 NCAA title in her 20 seasons. She has been a mainstay on various NCAA, IWLCA and US Lacrosse national committees.

An outstanding women’s lacrosse player at the University of Virginia from 1988-92 and an assistant field hockey and assistant women’s lacrosse coach at Georgetown University from 1993-94, Levy was named as Carolina’s first women’s lacrosse coach in October 1994.  

She is a 1992 graduate of the University of Virginia with a BA in rhetoric and communications and was a member of the U.S. National Team in 1992-93 and again in 1995. Levy (then known as Jenny Slingluff) played at UVa from 1988-1992.  She led the Cavaliers to the 1991 NCAA championship, scoring three goals in the title game and five in the semifinal, leading to her selection as the tournament’s Most Outstanding Attacker.

A two-time first-team All-America, Levy was named the 1992 NCAA Attacker of the Year.  In 2002, she was named one of the top 50 players in ACC history.  

She married Dan Levy of Baltimore, Md., in June 1998.  Dan is a 1993 UNC graduate who played lacrosse at Carolina for four years, starring on the 1991 NCAA championship team.  The couple has three children - Ryan (born in Jan. 2002), Alec (born in Sept. 2003) and Kathryn (born in July 2006).

Position: Head Coach
Experience: 18 Years
Phone: 919-962-0740
Email: uncwlax@uncaa.unc.edu
UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse