Tar Heels Celebrate 2012-13 At Banquet
Release: 04/16/2013
CHAPEL HILL --- The North Carolina women's basketball team celebrated its 2012-13 season with the annual year-end banquet Tuesday night at the George Watts Hill Alumni Center. The players, coaches and support staff were joined by hundreds of friends, family and fans as the Tar Heels looked back on a season that saw the team finish 29-7, advance to the ACC Tournament final and earn the No. 3 seed in the NCAA Bridgeport Region.

The event also marked a final goodbye for seniors Krista Gross, Waltiea Rolle and Tierra Ruffin-Pratt. The seniors closed the banquet with speeches reflecting on their time in Chapel Hill and the wonderful memories of their careers.

The coaches' toughness award was presented to Gross, while sophomore Megan Buckland was given the Most Inspirational Player Award after returning from her second ACL tear. Gross and Ruffin-Pratt were presented with strength and conditioning awards, and Rolle was named most improved in strength and conditioning. Sophomore Danielle Butts was named the sixth player of the year.

Gross was recognized as the team's Overall Champion for receiving the most cumulative points in all of the statistical categories in which totals are kept throughout the season, while Ruffin-Pratt was named top offensive player and Rolle was named the team's best defender.

Ruffin-Pratt was given the Jan Boxill Award for academics, while Gross was named the team's recipient of the Athletic Director's Scholar-Athlete Award by departing academic advisor Beth Bridger.

Ruffin-Pratt was given a personalized basketball to commemorate her 1,000th career point, while head coach Sylvia Hatchell was presented with a framed jersey honoring her 900 career wins. Xylina McDaniel was given her ACC Rookie of the Year trophy by 2004 ACC Rookie of the Year and former Tar Heel star Camille Little. Little was also joined on stage by former Tar Heels Jessica Breland, Rashanda McCants, Tiffany Tucker and Jennifer Thomas to help distribute the awards.

Hatchell presented awards to the team's top players in the following categories:

• Best field goal percentage - Rolle
• Best three-point percentage - Buckland
• Best free throw percentage - Ruffin-Pratt
• Most offensive rebounds - Rolle
• Most defensive rebounds - Gross
• Most passes to the post - Ruffin-Pratt
• Most assists - Ruffin-Pratt
• Most blocks - Rolle
• Most deflections - Gross
• Most steals - Ruffin-Pratt
• Most screens - Rolle
• Most dives - Brittany Rountree
• Most charges drawn - Rountree 
• Most outlets - McDaniel

Randy Morris, Gordon Kramon and Bridger took home the Outstanding Service Awards, and Joan Danaher received the Volunteer of the Year award.

UNC North Carolina Women's Basketball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016