Play Video
Isaac Presson won the McAfee Mile.
Isaac Presson won the McAfee Mile.
View larger
Tar Heels Round Off Home Season
Release: 04/13/2013

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - The University of North Carolina track and field team closed their 2013 home campaign on Saturday with the Joe Hilton Invitational, which featured the honorary McAfee Mile. The Tar Heels tagged six event wins and seven new personal bests on the day.

"The Joe Hilton Invitational was a definite success for the team as we prepare for the ACC Championships next week," said head coach Harlis Meaders. "I would like to thank Reggie McAfee for returning to campus to celebrate the anniversary of his landmark achievement. It was great to see him and his beautiful family.

"I would also like to that all of the faculty and staff members who came out to run in our inaugural faculty mile," Coach Meaders added, "It was a great race for everyone and we look forward to the event next year. It was also an honor for us to host the 100 and 200 Bridge II Sports wheel chair races to reach out to a part of the athletic community in the area that is beyond inspiring."

Isaac Presson won the keynote event, a mile race in honor of the 40th anniversary of Reggie McAfee becoming the first African American to break the four-minute barrier in the mile during his Carolina career. Presson took the event in 4:02.22 in a heat filled with top collegiate and professional runners from the area.

"Isaac had a very good race in the McAfee Mile," said Coach Meaders, "Of course we're glad a Tar Heel came out the victor in this commemorative event to honor a legend of our program but we're so proud of everyone for helping make this event possible and all the talented runners who participated to make it even more special for us."

Also competing in the McAfee Mile were Steve Magnuson (4:05.60, fourth-best collegiate), Mike Jacobs (4:09.38, seventh-best collegiate), Mark Derrick (4:14.87), and Braedon Koerwitz (4:23.48). Helping take part in Carolina history were Patrick Schellberg, who ran unattached, and Macon Gambill, who assisted in setting pace through the first lap.

If the mile was still an NCAA sanctioned race during the collegiate outdoor season, Presson's time would rank third all-time behind McAfee's 3:57.3. Magnuson would rank fourth pushing Jim Beatty and Ralph King's 4:06.2 to a tie for fifth. Tony Waldrop owns the school and national record at 3:53.2 set in 1974, just one year after McAfee's memorable mark.

Devon Carter etched close to his personal best in the 110-meter hurdles preliminary race, running in 14.25, and then blew past his PR to finish second in the final of the event with a new best time of 14.09. That time is 0.06 seconds away from the top five in UNC history.

Jasmine Wilson won her preliminary heat of the 100-meter hurdles in 14.89 and went on to place second in the final of the event in 14.35.

Cori Floyd was the victor in the women's 400-meter hurdles with a new personal record time of 1:01.38.

Tristine Johnson won her heat of the 200 and placed second overall with her new personal best 25.03 performance. In the men's 200, Clayton Parros placed fifth in 21.77 followed by Sean Sutton in sixth in 21.92.

Marisa Dobbins placed second in the women's 800 with her 2:11.30 finish. Macon Gambill placed third in the men's 800 in 1:54.86.

Aundrea Holmes and Caroline O'Hea each earned new personal bests in the women's 1,500, with Holmes running in 4:46.67 and O'Hea smashing her previous record by 10 seconds to finish in 4:46.98.

"We had some really great performances on the track today," said Coach Meaders, "Our hurdlers set good pace for the team, our distance kids are right where they need to be, and everyone seems to be falling into their place for what we need at the ACC Championships."

The Tar Heels swept the women's long jump taking the top four spots with Jacinda Evans claiming victory with her leap of 19-10 ¾ (6.06 meters). Johnson placed second in a personal record 19-2 ¾ (5.86 meters), Chrishawn Williams placed third also in 19-2 ¾ (5.86 meters), and Briana Hudson placed fourth in 18-11 ¾ (5.78 meters). Williams also won the women's triple jump with her clear of 39-10 ¾ (12.16 meters).

Daisaun White placed second in the men's long jump with his leap of 21-3 ¼ (6.48 meters).

Tory Kemp won the women's high jump as she cleared 5-8 ¾ (1.75 meters) followed by Ariel Roberts who also cleared 5-8 ¾. Phillip Morris placed second in the men's high jump clearing a height of 6-6 (1.98 meters).

Cameron Overstreet took the lead of the women's pole vault with her clearance of 13-3 ½ (4.05 meters).

Sarah Howard placed second in the women's shot put with her throw of 51-3 (15.62 meters) followed by Kayla Adams in fourth with 44-2 (13.46 meters). Howard also finished fourth in the women's discus with a length of 141-7 (43.15 meters).

In the men's shot put, Chris DiLorenzo also placed second with his toss of 53-0 ¾ (16.17 meters).

AJ Hicks threw a personal best in the men's hammer with his second-place 186-1 (56.71 meters). In the women's hammer throw, Avana Story placed third with a hurl of 176-6 (53.79 meters).

Dontrevious Ousley placed second in the men's discus, throwing 170-6 (51.96 meters). Hicks also competed in the discus with his throw of 164-10 (50.25 meters) good for fourth place.

"We had several lifetime bests in the field today, a mark that could lead to big points for us next week," said Coach Meaders, "Getting our multis some experience in other events will translate well for us, and AJ in the throws and Tristine in the jumps helped set us up for what we'll expect out of our program."

The women's 4x100 relay took first with Evans, Johnson, Tory Kemp and Williams combining to finish in 47.58.

The Carolina track and field coaches honored the program's 12 seniors on Saturday evening at the conclusion of the meet. Each senior was recognized for their commitment to the program and their successes on and off the field. Carolina's senior class accounts for 20 All-ACC honors, 15 NCAA first round and championship qualifying performances, and three All-America honors, and are as follows: Chris DiLorenzo, Marisa Dobbins, Jacinda Evans, Briana Hudson, Ashley Miess, Dylan Moore, Clayton Parros, Chadd Pierce, Reynaldo Radlin, Peter Rehder, Ariel Roberts, and Chrishawn Williams.

"As we prepare for the ACC Championships, we know that we will have to be at our best when it counts," said Coach Meaders, "We've worked hard, we are prepared and we're looking forward to what we can do next week."


UNC North Carolina Track & Field

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016