Isaiah Hicks was the ACC Sixth Man of the Year in 2016.
Isaiah Hicks was the ACC Sixth Man of the Year in 2016.
View larger
Hicks Named To Malone Award Watch List
Release: 10/20/2016

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 20 watch list members for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, and North Carolina senior Isaiah Hicks is on the list.

Hicks was the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Sixth Man of the Year and should play a larger role this season after the graduation of 2016 first-team All-America forward Brice Johnson.

Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“Karl Malone is the quintessential power forward, a true legend of the game and an exemplary teammate,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We are honored to present an award bearing his name and sincerely appreciate his expertise as we look to evaluate the best power forwards in the college game today.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

“When this award was introduced in 2015, I was curious to see what type of players would be identified and how they would prove themselves as the season progressed,” said Karl Malone, a 2010 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  “I can tell you, I have not been disappointed by the level of talent and dedication these candidates have shown and I look forward to watching them on the hardwood this year.”

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015). For more information on the 2017 Karl Malone Award, log onto


2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates 

Lauri Markkanen


Johnathan Motley


Ivan Rabb


Amile Jefferson


Jonathan Isaac

Florida St.

Yante Maten


Carlton Bragg Jr.


Dedric Lawson


Miles Bridges

Michigan St.

Isaiah Hicks

North Carolina

Bonzie Colson

Notre Dame

Michael Young


Caleb Swanigan


Tyler Lydon


TJ Leaf


Bennie Boatwright

University of Southern California

Alec Peters


Kris Jenkins


Austin Nichols


Nigel Hayes


UNC North Carolina Men's Basketball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016