Durkac Named Most Outstanding Gymnast
Release: 05/02/2012

May 2, 2012

Chapel Hill, N.C. - Elizabeth Durkac was named the 2012 Most Outstanding Gymnast at North Carolina's annual team banquet. Durkac was one of the most consistent performers this year, scoring a 39.0 or higher in the all-around in the last eight consecutive meets of the season.

Durkac won two individual event titles - all-around and uneven bars - in a three-team meet vs. Bowling Green and Maryland to earn East Atlantic Gymnastics League (EAGL) gymnast of the week honors. Two weeks later, she repeated as the league's gymnast of the week with a personal-best 39.225 in the all-around vs. Temple.

Morgan Evans, who competed as an individual at the NCAA Championships, earned the coaches award on vault, uneven bars and floor exercise. Evans posted a season-best 39.425 to place second on the all-around at the conference championships.

Evans shared the coaches award on vault with Zoya Johnson, shared the uneven bars award with Durkac and shared the floor exercise honor with Krista Jasper.

Senior Elizabeth Lindley was named the Athletic Director's Scholar-Athlete and earned the Gilbert Award for outstanding leadership qualities.

2012 Season Team Awards

Athletic Awards
Coaches Award on Vault: Zoya Johnson & Morgan Evans
Coaches Award on Uneven Bars: Elizabeth Durkac & Morgan Evans
Coaches Award on Balance Beam: Elizabeth Durkac & Janell Sargent
Coaches Award on Floor Exercise: Krista Jasper & Morgan Evans
Most Improved Gymnast: Elizabeth Durkac

Leadership & Inspirational Awards
Gilbert Award: Elizabeth Lindley (Acknowledging Outstanding Leadership Qualities)
Kaplan Award: Morgan Evans (Acknowledging Outstanding Achievement In NCAA Post-Season Competition)
Tonietto Award: Maura Masatsugu (Acknowledging Gymnastics Performances of Exceptional Aesthetic Quality)
Companioni Award: Michelle Ikoma (Acknowledging a Tenacious Spirit & An Uncompromising Will to Succeed)
Cunningham Award: Krista Jasper (Acknowledging Inspiring Courage & Perseverance in Facing Adversity)
Sunshine Award: Haley Watts & Janell Sargent (Acknowledging The Joy They Bring To The Team Experience Through Their Radiant Smiles & Positive Attitude)
Athletic Director's Scholar Athlete Award: Elizabeth Lindley
Most Outstanding Gymnast: Elizabeth Durkac

UNC North Carolina Gymnastics

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016