Tar Heels Earn 11th Straight NCAA Regional Selection
Release: 03/27/2012

March 27, 2012

NCAA Raleigh Regional Competition Order | Tickets | Live Scoring | Watch Live

INDIANAPOLIS---For the 11th straight season, North Carolina has been selected to compete in an NCAA Gymnastics Championships regional. The Tar Heels are one of six teams that will compete in the Raleigh Regional at Reynolds Coliseum on April 7 at 4 p.m. They will be joined by NC State, Florida, Kent State, Ohio State and Penn State.

Carolina will begin regional competition on the floor exercise. Tickets are available for $10 for adults, $5 for groups of 15 or more and $6 for senior/youth.

The Tar Heels enter the meet ranked fifth in the Southeast region with a Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) of 195.010.

Six teams, five all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and one individual event specialist per event (who has a minimum RQS of 9.4) were named to each of the six predetermined host sites.

The top-18 teams are seeded on a national basis, based on RQS. Teams 19-36 are organized into three pods (19-24, 25-30 and 31-36) and placed geographically at one of the six sites, beginning with teams 19-24 followed by teams 25-30 and then finally teams 31-36.

All-around competitors and event specialists are assigned to their respective geographic region or the designated site for their region (Northeast - North Carolina State University; Southeast - University of Arkansas, Fayetteville).

In case of ties for the last berth into regional competition and for seeding purposes, the team, all-around competitor or individual event specialist with the highest score, not including the six used for the regional qualifying score, will qualify. If a tie still exists, the process is continued until the tie is broken. The qualifying teams and individuals are listed below.

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Duluth, Georgia, April 20-22, hosted by the Gwinnett Center and Georgia Institute of Technology.

In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

All regionals will be conducted Saturday, April 7, with start times between 4 and 6 p.m. local time.

Raleigh Regional (North Carolina State University, host) - 4 p.m.
1. Florida
2. Ohio State
3. Penn State
4. North Carolina State
5. Kent State
6. North Carolina

Auburn Regional (Auburn University, host) - 6 p.m.
1. Georgia
2. Oregon State
3. Auburn
4. Michigan
5. West Virginia
6. Michigan State

Champaign Regional (University of Illinois, Champaign, host) - 4 p.m.
1. Oklahoma
2. Stanford
3. Denver
4. Illinois
5. Kentucky
6. Illinois-Chicago

Fayetteville Regional (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, host) - 4 p.m.
2. Arkansas
3. Boise State
4. Missouri
5. New Hampshire
6. Maryland

Salt Lake City Regional (University of Utah, host) - 6 p.m.
1. Nebraska
2. Utah
3. Minnesota
4. Iowa State
5. Arizona State
6. San Jose State

Seattle Regional (University of Washington, host) - 4 p.m.
1. Alabama
2. LSU
3. Arizona
4. Washington
5. Iowa
6. Central Michigan

For more information regarding the National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships, log on to www.NCAA.com.

UNC North Carolina Gymnastics

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016