Bernard Earns Hornung Award Recognition
Release: 10/29/2012

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Monday, Oct. 29, 2012) - For the second time this season, North Carolina's Giovani Bernard has earned a spot on the Paul Hornung Award's honor roll.  Bernard was joined by Oregon's De'Anthony Thomas and USC's Marqise Lee.  The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances throughout the season by FBS football players nationwide.

The Ducks' De'Anthony Thomas posted big numbers despite limited playing time in a win over Colorado while the Trojan's Marqise Lee rewrote the conference record books in a loss at Arizona. No. 2 Oregon and No. 18 USC face off Saturday, Nov. 3 at 7 pm on FOX. The duo was joined on the list by North Carolina's Giovani Bernard who scored three touchdowns on 33 touches this weekend, including a 74-yard punt return with 13 seconds remaining that broke a tie and gave the Tar Heels an improbable 43-35 victory against the N.C. State.

The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football.

Fans can now vote for the Paul Hornung Award finalists at, powered by Texas Roadhouse. All individuals that were on the preseason watch list, are selected as a Weekly Honor Roll selection or have been identified by the PHA staff for inclusion are eligible for the fan voting. Fan voting counts as an additional vote on the selection committee.

Week Nine Honorees:

  • USC's Marqise Lee hauled in 16 catches for a Pac-12 record 345 yards and two touchdowns, rushed once for one yard, and returned three kickoffs for 123 yards in the Trojans 39-36 loss at Arizona on Oct. 27.
  • Oregon's De'Anthony Thomas had a 70-yard punt return touchdown, carried the ball five times for 97 yards and another touchdown while hauling in one reception for nine yards in the Ducks' 70-14 win over Colorado on Oct. 27. Thomas played less than two quarters in the game as Oregon piled up the big lead.
  • North Carolina's Giovani Bernard had 304 all-purpose yards in a 43-35 win over NC State on Saturday. Bernard had 230 yards from scrimmage and a career-best 304 all-purpose yards today. Bernard has 1,498 all-purpose yards this year, already the ninth-most in school history. Bernard had 89 yards rushing, a 19-yard reception and a 74-yard punt return in the fourth quarter for a total of 182 all-purpose yards in the final 15 minutes. He scored twice via pass reception and once on the 74-yard punt return.

Past Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll Selections

Week One: Giovani Bernard (North Carolina), Matt Brown (Temple), Marqise Lee (USC) and Venric Mark (Northwestern).

Week Two: Venric Mark (Northwestern), Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State) and Steven Manfro (UCLA).

Week Three: Antonio Andrews (Western Kentucky), De'Anthony Thomas (Oregon) and Duke Johnson (Miami).

Week Four: Duke Johnson (Miami) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia).

Week Five: Dri Archer (Kent State), Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska) and Jamal Miles (Arizona State).

Week Six: Ameer Abdullah (Nebraska), Venric Mark (Northwestern), Dri Archer (Kent State) and Tavon Austin (West Virginia).

Week Seven: Dri Archer (Kent State), Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State) and Jerry "BooBoo" Gates (Bowling Green).

Week Eight: Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State), Skye Dawson (TCU) and Bernard Reedy (Toledo).

Week Nine: Marqise Lee (USC), De'Anthony Thomas (Oregon) and Giovani Bernard (North Carolina).


Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Hornung is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, "The most versatile man ever to play the game." A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote.  All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by Jewish Hospital Sports Medicine in early February in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Louisville Sports Commission
The Louisville Sports Commission (LSC) is a Louisville, Kentucky-based 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is to create a legacy of economic and social vitality through sports. LSC attracts and hosts sporting events and activities that have a positive economic impact on Louisville, enhance the area's image as a premier sports destination, promote healthy lifestyles and improve the quality of life for community members of all ages. More information is available online at and

Texas Roadhouse
Based in Louisville, Kentucky, Texas Roadhouse opened its doors in 1993. In just 19 years, Texas Roadhouse has grown to more than 380 locations in 48 states. The company is famous for hand-cut steaks, made-from-scratch sides, fresh-baked bread, and its lively atmosphere. In 2007 and 2008 Forbes magazine ranked the company as one of the 200 Best Small Companies and in 2009 the company was ranked "Best Value" by readers of Consumer Reports magazine. For more information, visit

UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016