CLA Honors Top Leaders
Release: 02/28/2010

Feb. 28, 2010

Photo Gallery



CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - The Carolina Leadership Academy, the nation's premier leadership development program in collegiate athletics, has announced the winners of the Tar Heel Leader of Distinction Award for 2009-10. The honor is the highest awarded by the CLA and recognizes outstanding leadership among student-athletes who are members of the Veteran Leaders program.


Honorees for the current school year are Caroline Boneparth (women's soccer), Kristen Carr (women's lacrosse), May-Lynne Chen-Contino (women's fencing), Illse Davids (field hockey), Kristi Eveland (women's soccer), Katelyn Falgowski (field hockey), Danielle Forword (field hockey), Ali Hawkins (women's soccer), Ashley Howard (women's swimming and diving), Tina Jacob (gymnastics), Kyle Jolly (football), Christine Knauer (softball), Jason McLaughlin (men's swimming and diving), Matt Merletti (football), Jenn Russell (women's lacrosse), Jennifer Sawicki (women's fencing), Kara Wright (gymnastics) and Kristen Taylor (women's lacrosse).


Boneparth, Hawkins, Jacob, Russell and Wright earned the honor for the second year in a row. Many of the Tar Heel Leaders of Distinction were recognized at halftime of a men's basketball game in January at the Dean E. Smith Center.

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016