Carolina Leadership Academy Announces Annual Honors
Release: 04/11/2006

April 11, 2006


CHAPEL HILL, N.C. -- Sixteen outstanding North Carolina student-athletes have received the Three Dimensional Leader (3DL) Award, the highest honor presented to participants in the Carolina Leadership Academy. They were recognized Monday evening at academy's annual banquet.

Honorees for 2005-06, the second year in which the awards have been presented, are Lori Chalupny (women's soccer), Pablo Durana (men's cross country and track), Anna Evans (softball), Kendall Fletcher (women's soccer), Mikel Hester (gymnastics), Jonathan Hovis (baseball), Rhian Jenks (women's track & field), Jenna Long (women's tennis), Tanja Markovic (women's tennis), Stephen McElduff (men's lacrosse), Bryan Steed (baseball), Lindsay Tarpley (women's soccer), Dave Werry (men's lacrosse), Kacey White (women's soccer), Travis Wherry (men's fencing) and Patrick Woodruff (men's swimming and diving).

The 3DL Award is determined by the ratings given to captains and team leaders by their coaches and teammates using the Team Leadership Evaluation, which measures a leader's ability to be effective vocally and by example.

Also honored Monday evening were the winners of the Capstone Award, a first-year honor that goes to participants in the Carolina Leadership Academy's Rising Stars program who have produced the most outstanding Capstone Project. The Capstone Project is an opportunity for leadership action learning which serves as the culmination for the Rising Stars program, the intermediate level in the Leadership Academy's progression. The theme of this year's Capstone Project was Legendary Leaders, which required participants to interview UNC's all-time greatest student-athlete leaders and record the interviews in such a way to be able to share it with future Carolina leaders.

The 2005-06 Capstone Award recipients, all from the women's lacrosse team, are Amanda Barnes, Katie Brooks, Meg Freshwater, Jamie Hanssen, Christina Juras, Erica LaGrow, Becky Lillemoe and Julia Ryan.

Initiated by UNC director of athletics Dick Baddour in 2004, the Carolina Leadership Academy is a comprehensive program designed to develop, challenge, and support UNC student-athletes, coaches and staff in their quest to become world-class leaders. The CLA is co-directed by Jeff Janssen, a nationally-prominent expert on sports leadership, and John Blanchard, senior associate athletic director at UNC.

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016