Carolina Honors Leadership Academy's Finest
Release: 03/12/2008

March 12, 2008



CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - A total of 19 North Carolina student-athletes have earned the Carolina Leadership Academy's Three-Dimensional Leader (3-DL) Award for 2007-08. Award recipients were honored at halftime of the men's basketball game against Florida State on March 4.


The award is the highest honor presented to participants in the Carolina Leadership Academy, which is now in its fourth year.

Receiving the honor for 2007-08 were Yael Averbuch (women's soccer), Amanda Barnes (women's lacrosse), Laree Beans (field hockey), Katie Brooks (women's soccer), Rachel Dawson (field hockey), Amber Falcone (women's lacrosse), Marcus Ginyard (men's basketball), Jamie Hanssen (women's lacrosse), Hanes Harris (women's tennis), Shawna Kelly (gymnastics), Tyra Johnson (women's track & field), Josh Moore (men's golf), Lisy McIntee (rowing), Will Randolph (men's fencing), Austin Smith (women's tennis), Robby Swendiman (men's swimming), Kelly Taylor (women's lacrosse), Adam Warren (baseball) and Julie Yates (women's soccer).

Brooks was honored for the third time, following recognition in both soccer and lacrosse last year. Beans, Johnson, McIntee, Randolph and Swendiman earned the honor for the second year in a row.

The 3-DL Award is determined by the ratings given to captains and team leaders by their coaches and teammates using the Team Leadership Evaluation, which measures a leader's ability to be effective vocally and by example.

As the nation's premier leadership development program in collegiate athletics, the Carolina Leadership Academy develops, challenges and supports student-athletes, coaches and staff in their continual quest to become world-class leaders in athletics, academics and life.


NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016