University of North Carolina Tar Heels Official Athletic Site
<
The Stadium
Release: 08/01/2012
“One moment you are deep in the green and the blaze of autumn leaves,
and the next the curtain has disappeared, the land falls away and the panorama of long, graceful lines and gently sweeping curves spreads out …
The picture fits exactly; it was made for its frame and its frame for it.”
– Carolina Alumni Review, Fall 1927



Kenan Memorial Stadium remains today as it was nearly a century ago – quite simply one of the most picturesque athletic venues in America. UNC’s alumni magazine saluted the natural beauty of the new stadium upon its opening on Nov. 24, 1927; some 28,000 fans
watched as the Tar Heels edged Virginia by one point. 

Since then, Kenan Stadium has been home to great teams and outstanding players and the battleground for thousands of memorable football games on crystalline autumn Saturdays. From modest beginnings—single levels of seats on each side of the playing field and a simple field house—the facility has evolved with the times but has preserved its aesthetic appeal. Among the significant expansion projects have been the addition of the upper decks in 1963; the construction of the south side press box, installation of permanent lights and addition of 2,000 choice seats between the 40 yard-lines in 1988; the addition of some 8,000 seats in the west end zone bowl and the construction of the Frank H. Kenan Football Center and the John Pope Box in 1997; the addition of the fifth floor to the Kenan Football Center in 2010; and now the addition of “Blue Zone” seating area in the east end zone and the opening of The Loudermilk Center for Excellence.