Schneider, Blumberg Earn ITA Regional Honors
Release: 05/15/2017

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – UNC's Ronnie Schneider was named ITA Senior Player of the Year as well as the recipient of the ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award, and William Blumberg was named ITA Rookie of the Year as the Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced its regional award winners on Monday evening.

Schneider, who graduated from UNC on Sunday with a degree in business administration, is the first Tar Heel to win the senior honor since Raian Luchici in 2006 and the fifth overall. This marks the second year in a row and the seventh time overall a Tar Heel has won the Leadership and Sportsmanship Award. UNC's Brett Clark was the recipient in 2016.

Schneider, the Tar Heel team captain and the team's No. 1 player, is currently ranked No. 22 nationally at singles. He is a four-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference honoree and earned All-America honors in 2016.

Blumberg, a freshman from Greenwich, Conn., is the fifth UNC player to earn the ITA Rookie honor, the first since Brayden Schnur won in 2014. Blumberg was the ACC Freshman of the Year and an All-ACC pick after going undefeated in conference play. He is currently ranked 16th in singles and 12th (with junior Robert Kelly) in doubles.

The Tar Heels are part of the Carolina Region. A full list of winners is here.

The UNC women also earned several honors, with Hayley Carter named Senior Player of the Year, Sara Daavettila named Rookie of the Year, Jessie Aney named the Player to Watch and Courtney Nagle named Assistant Coach of the Year.

National ITA winners will be announced on May 23.

Next up for the Tar Heels is an NCAA Tournament third-round matchup with California on Thursday evening in Athens, Ga. This is the fourth year in a row that the Tar Heels have reached the Sweet 16, and they're playing for a fourth-straight Elite 8 berth.

Carolina Region Honors

Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year: Tony Bresky - Wake Forest University

ITA Assistant Coach of the Year: Alex Wetherell - UNC Wilmington

ITA Most Improved Player (Senior): TJ Pura - Duke University

ITA Senior Player of the Year: Ronnie Schneider - University of North Carolina

ITA Rookie of the Year: William Blumberg - University of North Carolina

ITA Player to Watch: Borna Gojo - Wake Forest University

ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award: Ronnie Schneider - University of North Carolina

ITA Community Service Award: University of South Carolina

UNC North Carolina Men's Tennis

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016