Fedora And Williams To Compete In Chick-fil-A Challenge
Release: 04/18/2017

Greensboro, Ga. (April 18, 2017) North Carolina Head Football Coach Larry Fedora and Head Basketball Coach Roy Williams will represent the Tar Heels in the 11th annual Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. The duo will compete for a share of a $630,000 total purse, and the team’s winnings will be split between an endowed scholarship at the University of North Carolina and UNC Children’s Hospital.

As a top-tier academic medical center, UNC Children's Hospital upholds a four-tiered mission to "CARE," aligning clinical care, advocacy, research, and education to deliver world-class family-centered care—always regardless of a family's ability to pay. The hospital has nearly 200 physicians with expertise spanning nearly 50 programs in 20 clinical departments including 14 divisions in the UNC Department of Pediatrics. They are joined by more than 1,800 clinical and ancillary staff, all dedicated to providing exemplary, compassionate care to thousands of children each year.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 30 to May 3 at Reynolds Lake Oconee outside of Atlanta. Proceeds from the event benefit endowed scholarships at the participating universities and charitable foundations selected by the coaches. Since its creation in 2007, the event has contributed a total of $6 million in scholarship and charity, helping make the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl college football’s most charitable bowl game.

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. The event will be broadcast on ESPN in August and December. Specific dates will be announced this summer.

The field of competitors is scheduled to include two former winning teams including last year’s winning duo of Hugh Freeze and Wesley Walls of Ole Miss, as well as the four-time winning pair of Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012, 2014, 2015). The field includes two Heisman Trophy winners, six Dodd Trophy winners, and four new teams including Baylor, Florida and TCU. Representing the first-ever College Football Playoff (CFP) team will be former coaches and current CFP Selection Committee members Frank Beamer and Bobby Johnson.

The current field of competitors for the featured event is projected to include:





Nick Saban

Mark Ingram


Gus Malzahn

Al Del Greco


Jim Grobe                                  

David Crowder


Dabo Swinney

Steve Fuller


Steve Spurrier                          Shane Matthews

Shane Matthews


Kirby Smart

David Dukes

Georgia Tech

Paul Johnson

Jon Barry

North Carolina

Larry Fedora

Roy Williams

NC State

Dave Doeren

Terry Harvey

Ole Miss

Hugh Freeze

Wesley Walls


Gary Patterson

LaDainian Tomlinson                                    Gary Patterson                                   LaDainian Tomlinson

Virginia Tech

Justin Fuente                            Dell Curry

Dell Curry

College Football Playoff

Frank Beamer

Bobby Johnson


For more information, visit Chick-fil-APeachBowlChallenge.com.

UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016