Jenn Russell returns to the U.S. National Team on defense.
Jenn Russell returns to the U.S. National Team on defense.
View larger
Eight Tar Heels Lead U.S. National Team
Release: 06/15/2014

WASHINGTON - Eight current or former University of North Carolina lacrosse players have made the U.S. Women's National Team, more than any school in the nation.  US Lacrosse released the 38-player roster for its 2014-15 team on Sunday after a three-day tryout held at Georgetown University. 

The eight Tar Heels on the roster are attacker Becky Lynch (UNC class of 2012), midfielders Maggie Bill (2017), Emily Garrity (2013) and Laura Zimmerman (2012), defenders Jenn Russell (2010), Sloane Serpe (2014) and Courtney Waite (2015) and goalie Caylee Waters (2017).

Players were selected from an 81-player invite-only tryout pool, and were evaluated by the U.S. Women's National Team coaching staff, led by head coach Ricky Fried, as well as several top-level college coaches. The team will train and compete in several exhibition events in the lead-up to the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Women's World Cup in Surrey, England. Ultimately, 18 players will represent the U.S. as the team goes for a third consecutive and eighth overall world title.

A team-high eight players are graduates of or currently play for the University of North Carolina, with the University of Maryland and Syracuse University placing seven current and former players each.

"We appreciate the tremendous effort put forth by this group of players this weekend," said Ricky Fried, head coach of the U.S. Women's National Team. "While it's always a difficult task to select from among the most decorated players in the country, we're excited to begin the process of defending the gold medal with this new group."

The team will next convene for a training weekend August 1-3 at Georgetown University.

The 38-player training team, by position with school and graduation year noted: 


Alex Aust, Maryland 2013

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University 2013 *

Stephanie Finley, James Madison 2015

Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame 2017 +

Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern 2014

Becky Lynch, North Carolina 2012

Erin McMunn, Princeton 2015 +

Lindsey Munday, Northwestern 2006 *^

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse 2014

Courtney Swan, Virginia 2015

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse 2016 +

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse 2013


Maggie Bill, North Carolina 2017

Sarah Bullard, Duke 2011 *^

Taylor Cummings, Maryland 2016

Emily Garrity, North Carolina 2013

Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland 2010 *^

Kelly McPartland, Maryland 2015 +

Kelly Rabil, James Madison 2007 *

Mikaela Rix, Boston College 2015 +

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland 2013 *

Taylor Trimble, Duke 2015 +

Taryn VanThof, Loyola 2015

Katie Webster, Syracuse 2014

Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina 2012


Becca Block, Syracuse 2013

Megan Douty, Maryland 2015

Elizabeth Goslee, Marquette 2016

Katie Hertsch, Hofstra 2010

Alice Mercer, Maryland 2016

Kasey Mock, Syracuse 2014

Jenn Russell, North Carolina 2010 *

Sloane Serpe, North Carolina 2014

Morgan Stephens, Virginia 2015

Courtney Waite, North Carolina 2015


Liz Hogan, Syracuse 2011

Caroline Waters, North Carolina 2017

Devon Wills, Dartmouth 2006 *^



*Member of world champion 2013 U.S. women's national team

^Member of world champion 2009 U.S. women's national team

+Member of world champion 2011 U.S. women's national under-19 team

For more information on the U.S. women's national team, visit

UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016