World Cup Tar Heels in 2013: U.S. players Jenn Russell, Amber Falcone and Kristen Carr (in white) with Canadian team members Abbey Friend, Katie Brooks and Kristen Hordy (in black).
World Cup Tar Heels in 2013: U.S. players Jenn Russell, Amber Falcone and Kristen Carr (in white) with Canadian team members Abbey...
View larger
Tar Heels Lead U.S. Tryout Pool List
Release: 05/22/2014

CHAPEL HILL - US Lacrosse on May 21 announced the 88-player tryout pool for the 2014-15 U.S. Women's National Team, and 12 current and former University of North Carolina players, plus Tar Heel assistant coach Katrina Dowd, made the list.  

A 13th Carolina player, rising sophomore Sydney Holman, also was invited to tryout but could not participate due to the knee injury she suffered in the Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament quartefinals against Boston College a month ago.  Tryouts will be held from June 13-15 at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. 

Carolina's 12 players in the tryout pool led the nation, as did the six Tar Heels on the list who will be active college players next season.  Syracuse was second with nine total players on the invite list, and Maryland was second with five active players.

The six current Tar Heels in the tryout pool include midfielders Maggie Bill and Molly Hendrick, defenders Mallory Frysinger, Caileigh Sindall and Courtney Waite and goalie Caylee Waters.  The six former UNC players on the list include attacker Becky Lynch (class of 2011), midfielders Emily Garrity (2013) and Laura Zimmerman (2012) and defenders Amber Falcone (2009), Jenn Russell (2010) and Sloane Serpe (2014).

Only 10 rising sophomores in the nation made the tryout list, including five from Atlantic Coast Conference schools, and three of them were Tar Heels in Bill, Hendrick and Waters.  Classmate Holman originally was on the tryout list and would have been a fourth Tar Heel from the 2014 freshman class at the tryouts were it not for injury.  Rising ACC sophomores Cortney Fortunato (Notre Dame) and Taylor Poplawski (Syracuse) also made the list.

After the three-day tryout, approximately 36-40 players will be selected to the 2014-15 U.S. Women's National Team, which will train as part of the lead-up to the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Women's World Cup in Surrey, England. Ultimately, 18 players will represent the U.S. as the team goes for a third consecutive and eighth overall world title.

A total of 11 players from the squad that won gold at the 2013 FIL World Cup in Oshawa, Ontario, return to try out, including all-world performers in attackers Dowd, Lindsey Munday and Katie Rowan, defender Falcone and goalkeeper Devon Wills. Among other World Cup returners are attacker Danielle Etrasco, midfielders Sarah Bullard, Caitlyn McFadden, Kelly Rabil and Katie Schwarzmann, and defender Russell. 

The 88-player tryout pool, by position with school and graduation year noted:


Alex Aust, Attack, Maryland 2013

Nicole Boltja, Attack, Louisville 2014

Faye Brust, Attack, Louisville 2015

Katrina Dowd, Attack, Northwestern 2010 *

Danielle Etrasco, Attack, Boston University 2013 *

Stephanie Finley, Attack, James Madison 2015

Cortney Fortunato, Attack, Notre Dame 2017 +

Kyle Fraser, Attack, Stanford 2015

Erica Geremia, Attack, SUNY Cortland 2016

Becky Lynch, Attack, North Carolina 2011

Kerrin Maurer, Attack, Duke 2015

Colleen McCaffrey, Attack, Johns Hopkins 2012

Erin McMunn, Attack, Princeton 2015 +

Lindsey Munday, Attack, Northwestern 2006 *^

Alyssa Murray, Attack, Syracuse 2014

Taylor Poplawski, Attack, Syracuse 2017

Marisa Romeo, Attack, Harvard 2017

Katie Rowan, Attack, Syracuse 2009 *^

Jaclyn Sileo, Attack, LIU Post 2014

Covie Stanwick, Attack, Boston College 2015 +

Courtney Swan, Attack, Virginia 2015

Caroline Tarzian, Attack, Georgetown 2015

Kayla Treanor, Attack, Syracuse 2016 +

Michelle Tumolo, Attack, Syracuse 2013

Megan Whittle, Attack, Maryland 2018


Maggie Bill, Midfield, North Carolina 2017

Sarah Bullard, Midfield, Duke 2011 *^

Gabby Capuzzi, Midfield, Ohio State 2012

Gabrielle Christman, Midfield, Cal 2015

Taylor Cummings, Midfield, Maryland 2016

Lucy Dikeou, Midfield, Stanford 2016

Kelyn Freedman, Midfield, Georgetown 2014

Emily Garrity, Midfield, North Carolina 2013

Molly Hendrick, Midfield, North Carolina 2017

Jillian Horka, Midfield, Boston University 2016

Lauren Kahn, Midfield, Connecticut 2014

Amanda Kidder, Midfield, Duquesne 2015

Allison LaBeau, Midfield, Lehigh 2017

Caroline Margolis, Midfield, Boston College 2016

Caitlyn McFadden, Midfield, Maryland 2010 *^

Kelly McPartland, Midfield, Maryland 2015 +

Kelly Rabil, Midfield, James Madison 2007 *

Mikaela Rix, Midfield, Boston College 2015 +

Katie Rotan, Midfield, LIU Post 2014

Anna Schueler, Midfield, Michigan 2017

Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield, Maryland 2013 *

Erin Slifer, Midfield, Princeton 2015

Nicole Tiernan, Midfield, Temple 2016

Taylor Trimble, Midfield, Duke 2015 +

Taryn VanThof, Midfield, Loyola 2015

Kathryn Webster, Midfield, Syracuse 2014

Laura Zimmerman, Midfield, North Carolina 2012


Becca Block, Defense, Syracuse 2013

Alexis Cross, Defense, James Madison 2015

Megan Douty, Defense, Maryland 2015

Alyssa Dunlap, Defense, Vanderbilt 2014

Amber Falcone, Defense, North Carolina 2009 *^

Mallory Frysinger, Defense, North Carolina 2016

Elizabeth Goslee, Defense, Marquette 2016

Katie Hertsch, Defense, Hofstra 2010

April Iannetta, Defense, Hofstra 2015

Chelsea Intrabartola, Defense, Rutgers 2014

Maddison Lesher, Defense, Loyola 2016

Meghan Macera, Defense, Virginia Tech 2016

Lauren Maiorano, Defense, Dartmouth 2017

Meg Markham, Defense, Penn 2015

Alice Mercer, Defense, Maryland 2016

Kasey Mock, Defense, Syracuse 2014

Gabrielle Moise, Defense, Duke 2015

Jen Russell, Defense, North Carolina 2010 *

Sloane Serpe, Defense, North Carolina 2014

Caileigh Sindall, Defense, North Carolina 2015 +

Margaret Smith, Defense, Notre Dame 2014

Morgan Stephens, Defense, Virginia 2015

Jordan Trautman, Defense, Georgetown 2009

Taylor Virden, Defense, Duke 2014

Courtney Waite, Defense, North Carolina 2015


Kelsea Donnelly, Goalie, Towson 2015

Kelsey Duryea, Goalie, Duke 2016 +

Caroline Federico, Goalie, Johns Hopkins 2017

Lucy Ferguson, Goalie, Penn 2015

Kelsey Gregerson, Goalie, Hofstra 2015

Schylar Healy, Goalie, James Madison 2015

Liz Hogan, Goalie, Syracuse 2011

Kendall McBrearty, Goalie, Virginia 2008

Shannon Nee, Goalie, Connecticut 2016

Caylee Waters, Goalie, North Carolina 2017

Devon Wills, Goalie, Dartmouth 2006 *^


* Member of World Champion 2013 U.S. Women's National Team

^ Member of World Champion 2009 U.S. Women's National Team

+ Member of World Champion 2011 U.S. Women's National Under-19 Team

For more information on the U.S. Women's National Team, visit

UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016