Tar Heel Brayden Schnur is the first ACC freshman of the year for the Tar Heels since 2007.
Tar Heel Brayden Schnur is the first ACC freshman of the year for the Tar Heels since 2007.
View larger
Schnur Freshman, Paul Coach of the Year in ACC
Release: 05/01/2014

GREENSBORO, N.C.  - North Carolina’s Sam Paul has been named the 2014 ACC Coach of the Year after leading the Tar Heels to a 24-5 overall record and a current ITA ranking of 7th in the country.  Paul joins Virginia’s Brian Boland, former Clemson coach Chuck Kriese and former Duke coach Jay Lapidus as the only coaches to earn the distinction six times since the award’s inception in 1980.

Conference awards were announced Thursday by the league office in Greensboro.  UNC freshman Brayden Schnur of Pickering, Ontario earned accolades as the league's freshman of the year for the 2013-14 campaign.  Schnur, who enrolled at Carolina in January, was Carolina's #1 singles and #1 doubles player all year.  He has earned individual NCAA invitations in both singles and doubles (with Brett Clark).  He is 16-4 in singles play this spring and 18-5 in doubles overall.

Freshman Ronnie Schneider (Bloomington, Ind.) was also named first-team All-ACC and sophomore Brett Clark (Naples, Fla.) was accorded honors on the second-team All-ACC squads.  Both Schneider and Clark have won over 30 singles matches during the 2013-14 season.  Clark is 35-11 in singles action and Schneider is 31-7.  Clark and Schneider have won 26 and 24 matches, overall, in doubles play.

Paul’s team is one victory away in next week’s NCAA Tournament from tying the school record (25 set in 1992, 2006) for most wins in a season.   North Carolina advanced to the finals of the ACC Tournament for the first time since 2007.  The Tar Heels defeated five top 20 teams, including #9 Texas, while also recording five road wins over top 50 teams.

“To a large degree, this award is a reflection of the hard work and dedication by my associate herad coach, Tripp Phillips and my student-athletes.   Their commitment to success on and off the court are something I am extremely proud of," Coach Sam Paul said.
Individual honors, as well as the All-ACC teams, were determined by a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.
Virginia's Alex Domijan, a native of Wesley Chapel, Fla., is the fourth Cavalier student-athlete to be named ACC Player of the Year, joining Brian Vahaly (2000, 2001), Somdev Devvarman (2008) and Jarmere Jenkins (2012).
North Carolina's Schnur joins the likes of Paul Harsanyi (1994), Bjorn Rencken (1999) and Chris Kearney (2007) as Tar Heel student-athletes that have captured Freshman of the Year honors.
Paul moved into a tie for first all-time for most ACC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year honors with Chuck Kriese (Clemson), Jay Lapidus (Duke) and Brian Boland (Virginia).
Eleven ACC institutions had representatives on the All-ACC team, led by five honorees from Virginia. Duke had four representatives, while North Carolina, Notre Dame, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest each had three members. Clemson, Florida State and NC State had two honorees apiece, while Georgia Tech and Miami rounded out the field with one representative each.
Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year - Alex Domijan, Virginia
Freshman of the Year - Brayden Schnur, North Carolina
Coach of the Year - Sam Paul, North Carolina
All-ACC First Team
Mitchell Frank #                   Jr.          Virginia                 
Greg Andrews                        Sr.         Notre Dame          
Alex Domijan %                    Sr.         Virginia                 
Brayden Schnur                     Fr.         North Carolina     
Amerigo Contini @               So.         Virginia Tech       
Jason Tahir                             Jr.          Duke                      
Ronnie Schneider                  Fr.         North Carolina     
Romain Bogaerts*                 So.         Wake Forest         
Hunter Harrington*@          Jr.          Clemson                
Fred Saba*@                          Sr.         Duke                      
All-ACC Second Team
Dominique Maden                Sr.         Clemson                
Ryan Shane                             So.         Virginia                 
Austin Powell @                   Jr.          NC State                 
Dominic Cotrone @              Jr.          Florida State         
Brett Clark                              So.         North Carolina     
Omar Aly                                Sr.         Miami                    
Andreas Bjerrehus @           So.         Virginia Tech       
Nathan Rakitt                         So.         Georgia Tech        
Robbie Mudge @                   Jr.          NC State                 
All-ACC Third Team
Quentin Monaghan               So.         Notre Dame          
Mac Styslinger @                  So.         Virginia                 
Adam Lee @                           Sr.         Wake Forest         
Bruno Semenzato                  So.         Duke                      
Joao Monteiro                        So.         Virginia Tech       
Raphael Hemmeler               Jr.          Duke                      
Thai-Son Kwiatkowski        Fr.         Virginia                 
Cristian Gonzalez Mendez   Jr.          Florida State         
Maksim Kan*                         Fr.         Wake Forest         
Ryan Bandy*                          Sr.         Notre Dame          
* - Denotes a tie in voting
@ - Two-time selection
# - Three-time selection
% - Four-time selection

UNC North Carolina Men's Tennis

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016