Kat Nigro won the 2013-14 John Lotz Award.
Kat Nigro won the 2013-14 John Lotz Award.
View larger
McFarlane & Nigro Earn Top Awards At 2014 RAMMYS
Release: 04/15/2014

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - University of North Carolina women's soccer players Kelly McFarlane, a senior from Mill Valley, Calif., and redshirt sophomore Kat Nigro from Livingston, Tenn., were amongst the big winners Monday evening, April 14 at Carolina's annual Rammy Awards at Memorial Hall.

Nigro was the female recipient of the John Lotz Award which recognizes a student-athlete who best exemplifies the spirit of the late John Lotz, who served as UNC's Assistant Athletic Director of Campus and Community Relations and also was an assistant basketball coach for the Tar Heels. Winners have succeeded under adverse circumstances, overcoming difficulties while maintaining a positive attitude.  This year's  men's recipients was Alex Gianino (men's swimming and diving).

McFarlane was the recipient of two different awards.

For the first time, UNC presented an Ultimate Team Award, to student-athletes who excel in all areas. The winners of one of Carolina's long-standing honors, the Mildred McCaskill Award, were dubbed captains of the team. Winning that honor were Meredith Hoover (women's swimming and diving) and Ryan Creighton (men's lacrosse). Also honored as members of the Ultimate Team were Michelle Ikoma (gymnastics), Kelly McFarlane (women's soccer), James Hurst (football) and Kareem Martin (football).

The ACC Top Six for Service Award is given each year to six student-athletes or teams at each conference school to recognize those who excel in service. Winners were softball's Lori Spingola and Ashley Bone for their project Champions for Change; Kelly McFarlane (women's soccer); Zoe Skinner (women's lacrosse); participants in the Tar Heel Navigators leadership mentoring program; members of the football team; and the entire women's lacrosse team.

UNC North Carolina Women's Soccer

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016