UNC coach Sylvia Hatchell is a nominee for the Kay Yow Champion Award
UNC coach Sylvia Hatchell is a nominee for the Kay Yow Champion Award
View larger
Hatchell Among Nominees for Kay Yow Champion Award
Release: 01/17/2014

Several Tar Heels are among nominees for 2014 honors from the Greater Raleigh Sports Council, including two who are candidates for the inaugural Kay Yow Champion Award: UNC women's basketball coach Sylvia Hatchell and Chase Jones, a UNC alum and former member of the baseball team.

Established in memory of the longtime NC State women's basketball coach, the award honors "a leader in the business community who is a champion for their organization, a champion for the community, and most importantly a champion for others." Hatchell and Jones are among three nominees for the award.

Hatchell, a 2013 Naismith Hall of Fame inductee, announced during the fall that she would temporarily step away from coaching the Tar Heels while battling leukemia. A longtime advocate for cancer awareness, since her diagnosis she has promoted the Be The Match Foundation national bone marrow registry.

Jones, who successfully battled brain cancer when he was a freshman at UNC, served as a bullpen catcher and student manager for the baseball team before graduating from Carolina in 2011. In addition to work with several different charities, he has founded the Vs. Cancer Foundation, an organization dedicated to saving kids' lives by empowering athletes and communities to fund efforts to battle childhood cancers.

Additionally, UNC women's soccer player Crystal Dunn, who finished her career with the 2013 season, is among five nominees for the Amateur Athletics Award. A candidate for a 2013 ESPY as Best Female College Athlete, Dunn led UNC to the 2012 NCAA title and won the Honda Award and the Hermann Trophy as player of the Year. She was a finalist for both awards in 2013. 

Brian Shriver, who played on the UNC men's soccer team from 2005-08 and earned All-America honors as a senior, is a nominee for the Sports Person of the Year Award. As a member of the Carolina RailHawks soccer team, he scored 15 goals in 2013 to earn the North American Soccer League Golden Book award, which goes to the top scorer during the combined NASL spring and fall seasons.

Fans can vote online for their favorite nominees through Jan. 25. The winners will be announced Feb. 12 at the 2014 Evening of Champions celebration.

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016