Switzer Earns CFPA Punt Returner Trophy
Release: 01/06/2014

Davidson, N.C. - North Carolina's Ryan Switzer has been name the College Football Performance Award Punt Returner of the Year.  Switzer led the nation with five punt return touchdowns and set the single-season school record with a 20.9 punt return average.

According to the CFPA, Switzer produced the strongest punt return performance since the inception of the CFPA program and CFPA Punt Returner Trophy in 2009.

Switzer is the third Tar Heel to earn CFPA honors.  Giovani Bernard was the punt returner of the year in 2012 and Zach Brown was the linebacker of the year in 2011.

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.


UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016