Eric Ebron
Eric Ebron
View larger
Ebron Named Walter Camp All-America
Release: 12/12/2013

NEW HAVEN, CT - North Carolina junior tight end Eric Ebron has been named a second-team All-America by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.  The 124th Walter Camp team, the nation's oldest All-America team, was announced Thursday on The Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show.

A native of Greensboro, N.C., Ebron led the Tar Heels with 55 catches for 895 yards and three touchdowns. He set the ACC single-season record for receiving yards by a tight end and set the single-season school record for receptions by a tight end.  

The members of the 2013 All-America team, along with Player of the Year Jameis Winston and Coach of the Year David Cutcliffe (Duke), will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet on Saturday, January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.  In addition, the Foundation will recognize three individuals - former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), former Penn State and Oakland Raider standout lineman Matt Millen (Man of the Year) and former North Carolina All-American Ken Huff (Alumnus of the Year) - with major awards.

The Foundation is offering a "Holiday Ticket Promotion" for the National Awards Dinner. Buy two tickets for $450 (you save $150) before December 31.  Please call (203) 288-CAMP (288-2267) for more information.


Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.  The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit

2013 Walter Camp All-America Teams

First Team Offense

Pos. Name, School Hgt Wgt Class Hometown

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M 6-5 225 Soph. Galveston, TX

WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State 5-10 186 Jr. Stockton, CA

TE Jace Amaro, Texas Tech 6-5 260 Jr. San Antonio, TX

OL Cyrus Louandjio, Alabama 6-6 310 Jr. Hyattsville, MD

OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M # 6-5 305 Sr. Missouri City, TX

OL Cyril Richardson, Baylor 6-5 340 Sr. Fort Worth, TX

OL David Yankey, Stanford 6-5 313 Sr. Roswell, GA

C Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma 6-3 298 Sr. Oklahoma City, OK

QB AJ McCarron, Alabama 6-4 214 Sr. Mobile, AL

RB Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona 5-10 207 Jr. Tucson, AZ

RB Andre Williams, Boston College 6-0 227 Sr. Schnecksville, PA

PK Anthony Fera, Texas 6-2 208 Sr. Cypress, TX

PK Roberto Aguayo, Florida State 6-1 203 Fr. Mascotte, FL


First Team Defense

DL Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh 6-0 285 Sr. Pittsburgh, PA

DL Michael Sam, Missouri 6-2 255 Sr. Hitchcock, TX

DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas 6-5 250 Sr. Plano, TX

DL Vic Beasley, Clemson 6-2 235 Jr. Adairsville, GA

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama* 6-2 238 Sr. Mobile, AL

LB Anthony Barr, UCLA 6-4 248 Sr. San Pedro, CA

LB Trent Murphy, Stanford 6-6 261 Sr. Mesa, AZ

DB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State 5-11 197 Sr. Dry Branch, CA

DB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State 5-8 190 Sr. Fort Lauderdale, FL

DB Jason Verrett, TCU # 5-10 176 Sr. Fairfield, CA

DB Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State 6-0 200 Sr. Huntsville, TX

P Austin Rehkow, Idaho 6-3 202 Fr. Veradale, WA

KR Ty Montgomery, Stanford 6-2 215 Jr. Dallas, TX


Second Team Offense

Pos. Name, School Hgt Wgt Class Hometown

WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson 6-1 205 Jr. Fort Myers, FL

WR Davante Adams, Fresno State 6-2 216 Soph. Palo Alto, CA

TE Eric Ebron, North Carolina 6-4 245 Jr. Greensboro, NC

OL Taylor Lewan, Michigan * 6-8 315 Sr. Cave Creek, AZ

OL Jack Mewhort, Ohio State 6-6 308 Sr. Toledo, OH

OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State 6-4 340 Sr. Liberty, MS

OL Cameron Erving, Florida State 6-6 320 Jr. Moultrie, GA

C Bryan Stork, Florida State 6-4 300 Sr. Vero Beach, FL

QB Jameis Winston, Florida State 6-4 228 Fr. Bessemer, AL

RB Bishop Sankey, Washington 5-10 203 Jr. Spokane, WA

RB Kapri Bibbs, Colorado State 5-11 203 Soph. Plainfield, IL

PK Jeff Budzien, Northwestern 5-11 175 Sr. Hartland, WA


Second Team Defense

DL Marcus Smith, Louisville 6-3 252 Sr. Columbus, GA

DL Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State 6-4 250 Soph. Middletown, NJ

DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina* 6-6 274 Jr. Rock Hill, SC

DL Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State 6-3 245 Jr. Aiken, SC

LB Ryan Shazier, Ohio State 6-2 230 Jr. Fort Lauderdale, FL

LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo 6-3 248 Sr. Fort Pierce, FL

LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU 6-3 245 Sr. Reno, NV

DB Anthony Harris, Virginia 6-1 190 Jr. Chesterfield, VA

DB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon 5-10 185 Jr. Chino Hills, CA

DB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech 6-0 194 Sr. Baltimore, MD

DB Deone Bucannon, Washington State 6-1 215 Sr. Fairfield, CA

DB Lorenzo Doss, Tulane 5-11 175 Soph. New Orleans, LA

P Tom Hornsey, Memphis 6-3 210 Sr. Geelong, Victoria Australia

KR DeVon Edwards, Duke 5-9 185 Fr. Covington, GA


* - 2012 Walter Camp First Team All-America

# - 2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-America

UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016