Crystal Dunn looks to repeat as the Hermann Trophy winner in 2013.
Crystal Dunn looks to repeat as the Hermann Trophy winner in 2013.
View larger
Dunn Tapped As MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist
Release: 12/12/2013

KANSAS CTY, Kan. (Dec. 12, 2013) - Three men and three women have been selected as finalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy, including 2012 women's recipient Crystal Dunn of the University of North Carolina.

Both 2012 MAC Hermann winners have been named 2013 finalists: Maryland senior forward Patrick Mullins (New Orleans) and North Carolina senior midfielder Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.).

The other men's finalists are Notre Dame senior forward Harrison Shipp (Lake Forest, Ill.), and UCLA junior midfielder Leo Stolz (Munich, Germany).

The women's finalists include Virginia junior midfielder Morgan Brian (St. Simons Island, Ga.) and UCLA junior defender Abby Dahlkemper (Menlo Park, Calif.).

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate soccer award presented annually during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year the banquet will take place Friday, Jan. 10, 2014.

NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA College Services members voted for their top choices from the list of 15 men and 15 women named semifinalists last Tuesday. Soccer fans were also encouraged to vote for their favorite player on the MAC's website hosted by LockerDome. The six semifinalists were the top vote-getters from the combined NSCAA coaches and weighted fan votes.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit the MAC Hermann Trophy page at

For news and highlight reels from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit

About Crystal Dunn

Senior Midfielder

Rockville Centre, N.Y.

2012 Hermann Trophy winner…2013 ACC Offensive Player of the Year…was also named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2010 and 2012…first player in ACC history to win both awards during her career…first player to win ACC player of the year honors three times since Mia Hamm in 1993…2012 consensus first-team All-America selection and consensus national player of the year…starting defender on U.S. National Team…2012 U20 World Champion starting defender…named first-team All-ACC all four years of her UNC career…despite late season injuries and national team duties she led Carolina in scoring as a senior with 14 goals and six assists for 34 points…also led the Tar Heels in 2013 with six game-winning goals.

About the Missouri Athletic Club

The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer's players of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a "Platinum Club of America" status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to

About the NSCAA

Founded in 1941 and based in Kansas City, Kan., the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) is a non-profit organization with a mission to educate coaches, encourage excellence and serve the soccer community.

The NSCAA is the world's largest soccer coaches' organization with members at every level of the game. The membership is primarily made up of coaches, but also includes administrators, referees and others in the soccer industry. The NSCAA provides its members ways to enhance the game of soccer by providing a national education program, interaction and networking opportunities, and membership benefits.

For more information about the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, visit the NSCAA website at

UNC North Carolina Women's Soccer

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016