Jovana Bjelica was named First Team All-ACC.
Jovana Bjelica was named First Team All-ACC.
View larger
Four Tar Heels Earn ACC Honors
Release: 12/04/2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - Four Tar Heels earned ACC honors, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

Graduate student Jovana Bjelica and sophomores Paige Neuenfeldt and Victoria McPherson earned All-ACC honors, and Abigail Curry was named to the All-Freshman team. Bjelica was named to the First Team, Neuenfeldt - second team and McPherson - third team.

Duke sophomore outside hitter Emily Sklar has been selected as the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Player of the Year.

Duke senior libero Ali McCurdy has been named the league's Defensive Player of the Year, and Duke's Jolene Nagel was named the Coach of the Year. Virginia's Jasmine Burton was chosen as the Freshman of the Year and headlines the six-person All-Freshman Team. The awards were decided based on a vote of the league's 15 head coaches.

Sklar, a native of San Jose, Calif., ranks second in the conference with 3.96 kills per set. She is the eighth student-athlete from Duke to garner Player of the Year honors and the first since Kellie Catanach in 2010. Sklar helped lead the Blue Devils to their 11th ACC conference crown and its first since the 2010 campaign.

McCurdy has been named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year for the third consecutive season. A native of Tampa, Fla., McCurdy became the first student-athlete to win back-to-back individual awards in the conference last season, and now becomes the first individual to win an individual honor in three consecutive seasons. The senior libero's 5.10 digs per set leads the ACC.

Burton is the third Virginia student-athlete and first since McKenzie Adams in 2010 to be named ACC Freshman of the Year. Burton played a key role on a resurgent Cavaliers team that finished the season with an 18-14, 11-9 ACC ledger, one year after posting a 9-22, 3-17 ACC record.

Duke's Nagel led the Blue Devils to a 27-4, 18-2 ACC record in earning her fourth career ACC Coach of the Year honor (2001, 2006, 2010, 2013). Overall, Nagel has been at the helm for four (2001, 2006, 2010, 2013) of Duke's 11 conference titles in program history. Under her guidance during the 2013 season, Duke saw six players named members of All-ACC teams, two earn major individual honors and the team achieve a ranking as high as No. 13 in the AVCA poll.

Eleven different teams are represented on the All-ACC Team, led by Duke's five student-athletes. Four from Florida State and Miami were recognized, followed by three from Virginia and North Carolina, two from Maryland and Virginia Tech and one apiece from Clemson, Notre Dame, Pitt and Syracuse.

Joining Burton on the All-Freshman Team were Virginia's Haley Kole, Duke's Jordan Tucker, Clemson's Leah Perri, Virginia Tech's Lindsey Owens and North Carolina's Abigail Curry.

Duke's McCurdy was named to the All-ACC Team for the fourth time, just the 14th volleyball student-athlete in ACC history to accomplish that feat.

ACC teams will begin play in the 2013 NCAA Championship on Thursday, Dec. 5, with Florida State in action, while Duke, Miami and North Carolina will get its postseason under way on Friday, Dec. 6.

2013 ACC Volleyball Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Emily Sklar, So., OH, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year: Ali McCurdy, Sr., L, Duke
Freshman of the Year: Jasmine Burton, Fr., RS, Virginia
Coach of the Year: Jolene Nagel, Duke

2013 All-ACC Volleyball First Team
Emily Sklar So. OH Duke
Ashley Neff # Sr. MB Florida State
Jovana Bjelica Sr. OH North Carolina
Moneshia Simmons Sr. OH Clemson
Savanah Leaf Jr. OH Miami
Silvi Uattara So. OH Syracuse
Victoria Hamsher Sr. MB Virginia Tech
Emani Sims ! Jr. MB Miami
Ali McCurdy % Sr. L Duke

2013 All-ACC Volleyball Second Team
Nicole Walch So. OH Florida State
Jeme Obeime Jr. OH Duke
Paige Neuenfeldt So. MB North Carolina
Elise Walch So. OH Florida State
Lauren Fuller So. S Virginia
Chelsea Cook Sr. MB Duke
Ashleigh Crutcher ! Jr. OH Maryland
Alexis Mourning ! Jr. MB Miami
Katie Mosher Jr. L Florida State

2013 All-ACC Volleyball Third Team
Jessica Wynn Jr. RS Pittsburgh
Jeni Houser Jr. MB Notre Dame
Kathryn Caine Jr. RS Virginia Tech
Maggie Deichmeister Jr. S Duke
Adreene Elliott Jr. MH Maryland
Tori Janowski Jr. OH Virginia
Victoria McPherson So. MB North Carolina
Jasmine Burton Fr. RS Virginia
Ryan Shaffer ! Sr. DS Miami

2013 All-ACC Volleyball Freshman Team
Jasmine Burton Fr. RS Virginia
Haley Kole Fr. OH Virginia
Jordan Tucker Fr. MB Duke
Leah Perri Fr. RS Clemson
Lindsey Owens Fr. OH Virginia Tech
Abigail Curry Fr. S North Carolina

! - Two-time selection
# - Three-time selection
% - Four-time selection

UNC North Carolina Volleyball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016