Clockwise from L: Isaac Presson, John Raneri, Scott Morgan, Matt Valeriani, Annie LeHardy, Joe Sansone, Pat Schellberg, Ryan Walling.
Clockwise from L: Isaac Presson, John Raneri, Scott Morgan, Matt Valeriani, Annie LeHardy, Joe Sansone, Pat Schellberg, Ryan...
View larger
LeHardy, Carolina Men Ready For XC NCAAs
Release: 11/22/2013

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- The 2013 NCAA Cross Country National Championships will take place on Saturday, November 23rd, at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center. The men's 10K will begin at noon and will be followed by the women's 6K at approximately 1:15 p.m.

The No. 28 Carolina men received an at-large team bid for the championships following their fourth-place finish at the NCAA Southeast Regional. It is their first team national championship berth since 1991 when the team finished 22nd.

Annie LeHardy also earned an automatic individual bid from her seventh-place finish at the Southeast Regional. She ran her 6K in a personal best 20:19.7.

The championship meet will be streamed live online and live results are available.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals qualified in their respective NCAA regional competitions. Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their region. All of the national championship qualifiers are listed below:

Men's Automatic Qualifying Teams

No. 10 Arkansas
No. 3 Colorado
No. 12 Columbia
No. 16 Eastern Kentucky
No. 30 Florida
No. 29 Georgia
No. 13 Michigan
No. 1 Northern Arizona
No. 2 Oklahoma State
No. 5 Oregon
No. 18 Princeton
No. 4 Stanford
No. 7 Syracuse
No. 23 Texas
No. 9 Tulsa
No. 22 Virginia
No. 14 Villanova
No. 17 Wisconsin

Men's At-Large Teams

No. 24 Air Force
No. 8 BYU
No. 27 Colorado State
No. T25 Dartmouth
No. 20 Indiana
No. 15 Iona
No. 6 New Mexico
No. 28 North Carolina
No. T25 NC State
No. 19 Notre Dame
No. 11 Portland
No. 21 Providence

Women's Automatic Qualifying Teams

No. 3 Arkansas
No. 2 Arizona
No. 13 Butler
No. 5 Colorado
No. 15 Dartmouth
No. 4 Florida State
No. 6 Georgetown
No. 7 Iowa State
No. 8 Michigan
No. 16 Minnesota
No. 11 New Mexico
No. 1 Providence
No. 29 SMU
No. 12 Stanford
No. 10 Virginia
No. 25 Vanderbilt
No. 9 Villanova
No. 18 William & Mary

Women's At-Large Teams

No. 30 BYU
No. 24 Cornell
No. 14 Michigan State
No. 23 Notre Dame
No. 17 Oregon
No. 22 Penn State
No. 27 Princeton
No. 19 San Francisco
No. 21 Syracuse
No. 20 Washington
No. 26 West Virginia
No. 28 Wisconsin

Men's Individual Qualifiers

Great Lakes Region
John Mascari, Indiana State
Matt McClintock, Purdue
Caleb Rhynard, Michigan State
Tom Curr, Butler

Southeast Region
Paul Chelimo, North Carolina-Greensboro
Thomas Curtin, Virginia Tech
Paul Katam, North Carolina-Greensboro
Tyler Byrne, Louisville
Ernest Kibet, Louisville

Mid-Atlantic Region
Andrew Springer, Georgetown
Matt Fischer, Penn State
Thomas Awad, Penn
Tyler Mueller, Lehigh

West Region
Jeff Howard, Boise State
Aaron Nelson, Washington
Chris Frias, Cal Poly
Chris Enriquez, Long Beach State
Eric Causey, San Francisco

Midwest Region
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
Jannis Topfer, Illinois
Mohamed Hrezi, Iowa State
Reid Buchanan, Kansas

Mountain Region
Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech
Anthony Rotich, UTEP
Ryan Barrus, Southern Utah
Garrett Zans, Wyoming

Northeast Region
Kevin Dooney, Yale
Kelton Cullenberg, Maine
Wesley Gallagher, Northeastern
Craig Hunt, Central Connecticut

South Region
Ty McCormack, Auburn
Peter Okwera, Tennessee
Matt Miller, Belmont
Bryant Blahnik, Florida State

South Central Region
Matt Johnsen, Lamar
Isaac Spencer, Texas A&M
Ash Harrell, Lamar
Will Firth, Rice

Women's Individual Qualifiers

Great Lakes Region
Juli Accurso, Ohio
Katie Borchers, Ohio State
Victoria Voronko, Eastern Michigan
Clare Fischer, Xavier

Mid-Atlantic Region
Michelle Capozzi, La Salle
Lindsay Prettyman, Delaware
Cleo Whiting, Penn
Kiera Harrison, Loyola Maryland

Midwest Region
Courtney Frerichs, UMKC
Alyssa Schneider, Illinois
Kaitlyn Fischer, Missouri
Monika Juodeskaite, Oklahoma State

Mountain Region
Heather Demorest, Montana State
Summer Harper, Weber State
Rebekah Winterton, Utah
Rolonda Jumbo, Northern Arizona

Northeast Region
Waverly Neer, Columbia
Kate Avery, Iona
Liv Westphal, Boston College
Silvia Del Fava, Albany

South Region
Cory McGee, Florida
Teghan Henderson, Chattanooga
Elinor Kirk, UAB
Agata Strausa, Florida

South Central Region
Marielle Hall, Texas
Kristina Aubert, Arkansas State
Rachel Johnson, Baylor
Hillary Montgomery, Texas A&M
Brooke Cassar, Central Arkansas

Southeast Region
Cally Macumber, Kentucky
Juliet Bottorff, Duke
Joanna Thompson, NC State
Annie LeHardy, North Carolina
Sarah Rapp, Virginia Tech

West Region
Emma Bates, Boise State
Shelby Houlihan, Arizona State
Kelsey Santisteban, California
Laura Hollander, Cal Poly

UNC North Carolina Cross Country

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016