Devon Brouse, John Inman, Christopher Fordham
Devon Brouse, John Inman, Christopher Fordham
View larger
Devon Brouse To Be Inducted Into Order Of Merit
Release: 11/01/2013

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - Former Tar Heel golf coach Devon Brouse will be inducted into the Carolina Golf Order of Merit on Saturday.  The induction will take place at the A.E. Finley Banquet of the Executive Cup Golf Tournament which will be played Saturday at UNC Finley Golf Course.  The dedication of the renovated Finley Clubhouse will kick off the festivities at 9:30 a.m.

Approximately 45 former golfers, in addition to supporters of the golf program, will take part in Saturday's activities, many returning to honor their former head coach.  Brouse served as UNC's golf director and men's golf coach for 21 years, 1977-98 and turned the Tar Heel golf program into one of top teams in the country.  Brouse's UNC teams competed in 19 NCAA Championships, finishing in the top-10 10 times and the top-20 17 times.  His teams captured six Atlantic Coast Conference titles.

"We are so proud to be inducting Devon Brouse into the Carolina Golf Order of Merit," says Tar Heel head coach Andrew Sapp.  "His record and success speaks for itself with all of the tournament wins, top-10 NCAA finishes, and All-Americas he coached.  What he has done in his coaching career is unparalleled being in the men's and women's golf coaches halls of fame.  Personally, I can't say enough about Coach.  For me, he was a great coach, mentor, boss and friend, and like so many of his players, I wouldn't be in the position I am now if it were not for him.  Coach Brouse gave so much to this Carolina Golf Program and we are excited to be honoring him for his contributions."

Now in his 37th year as a college golf coach, Brouse is one of the finest coaches in collegiate golf as in 2009 he was inducted into the Golf Coaches Association of America's Hall of Fame and in 2012 he was inducted into the Women's Golf Coaches Association, the first person to be inducted into both the men's and women's halls of fame.  He is in his 16th season as director of golf operations for Purdue's men's and women's golf programs and head coach of the women's team after returning to his alma mater in 1998.  Until this year he also coached the men's team.

"It's obviously an honor to be recognized by an organization like the University of North Carolina," says Brouse.  "I have been blessed to represent two great institutions in my coaching career the last 37 years.  It will be great to see all the former players and play in the Executive Cup.  Kathy and I are looking forward to it." 

Brouse was selected the ACC Coach-of-the-Year three times, 1981, 1991 and 1995, and was named District III Coach-of-the-Year in 1991 and 1995.  He coached one NCAA champion, six ACC individual champions and 18 All-Americas named to those squads on 32 occasions.  Three of those selections were three-time All-Americas - Frank Fuhrer (1979-81), John Inman (1982-84) and Davis Love III (1983-85).  Brouse coached 20 players selected to the All-ACC team on 36 occasions.

The Tar Heels captured 55 team titles with Brouse at the helm and 67 individual titles were posted by his players in his 21 years as head coach.  Some notable accomplishments during Brouse's career include John Inman (1981-84) winning the 1984 NCAA Championship and later awarded the 1984 Fred Haskins Award, emblematic of his selection as the national player of the year.  Davis Love III (1983-85) won six collegiate titles, was a three-time All-America and All-ACC performer and went on to a storied career on the PGA Tour.  Mark Wilson (1994-97) received the 1996 Ben Hogan Award for his athletic and academic excellence.  Tom Scherrer (1990-92) was a finalist at the 1992 U.S. Amateur and a member of the 1991 United States' Walker Cup Team.

Brouse, a native of Indianapolis, earned a B.S. in agronomy from Purdue in 1971.  He left UNC following the 1998 season for Purdue where he has led the Boilermakers to unprecedented success.  Purdue's women's team captured the NCAA Championship in 2010 and Boilermaker Maria Hernandez won the individual title in 2009.  Brouse's teams have captured six Big Ten team championships and seven Big Ten individual medals.  Brouse has won five Big Ten Coach of the Year honors and was named the National Golf Coaches Association's and Golfweek's National Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2010.

UNC North Carolina Men's Golf

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016