The Tar Heels celebrated the 2012-13 season on Tuesday night.
The Tar Heels celebrated the 2012-13 season on Tuesday night.
View larger
Track & Field, Cross Country Host Awards Banquet
Release: 10/15/2013

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - The University of North Carolina track and field and cross country teams hosted its Annual Awards Dinner on Tuesday night in celebration of the programs' accomplishments during the 2012-13 year.

The event was held at The Carolina Club in the George Watts Hill Alumni Center on the UNC campus.

Head coach Harlis Meaders opened the evening with remarks followed by a highlight video (below) of the 2012-13 seasons.

Tar Heel alums Vanneisha Ivy (2006-10) and Daniel Keller (2006-10) also spoke at the event reminiscing on their Carolina competitive days and attesting to what being a member of the track and field teams is all about.

Coach Meaders along with introducer Sam Magill welcomed Eli Evans who presented the E.J. Evans Award on behalf of his father in recognition of leadership and service. Tristine Johnson and Devon Carter were the first recipients in the annual award.

Awards for the cross country and track and field teams were also given to honor character and performance. Assistant coaches Nicole Hudson, Steve Rubin, Mark VanAlstyne, and Angela Reckart gave the awards below. Assistant coach Josh Langley was unable to attend the event as he was by his wife, Layna's side awaiting the birth of their newborn child.

Cross Country Awards

Inspirational Tar Heel
Karley Rempel
Ryan Walling

Most Valuable Performer
Lianne Farber
Pat Schellberg

Track and Field Awards

Freshmen of the Year
Tory Kemp
RJ Alowonle

Most Improved
Cameron Overstreet
Steve Magnuson

Inspirational Tar Heel
Cori Floyd
Houston Summers

Most Valuable Performer
Chrishawn Williams
Clayton Parros

UNC North Carolina Track & Field

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016