Senior Kieran McDonald won the award as the team's most valuable defensive player.
Senior Kieran McDonald won the award as the team's most valuable defensive player.
View larger
Carolina Honors 2013 ACC Lacrosse Championship Team
Release: 10/07/2013

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - The University of North Carolina men's lacrosse team formally honored its 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference championship team Friday night with the program's annual awards banquet at the Loudermilk Center for Excellence.

In addition to the ring ceremony, awarding the championship rings to the Tar Heel players and staff, UNC honored its various winners of conference, national and school athletic and academic honors from the 2012-13 school year.

Tar Heel head coach Joe Breschi served as master of ceremonies and his assistant coaches - Pat Myers, Chris Feifs and Brian Holman - were involved in the recognition of the 2012-13 team award winners.

The list of 2013 team award winners is as follows:

Turnbull Trophy (Most Valuable Player) - Marcus Holman, Senior, Attackman

Most Valuable Offensive Player - Marcus Holman, Senior, Attackman

Most Valuable Defensive Player - Kieran McDonald, Senior, Close Defenseman

Needham Unsung Hero Award - Davey Emala, Senior, Midfielder

Jay Gallagher Memorial Award (Outstanding Freshman) - Kieran Burke, Freshman, Goalkeeper

Holmes Harden, Sr., Memorial Award (Most Ground Balls) - R.G. Keenan, Junior, Midfielder

Danny Fox Memorial Award (Service to Carolina Lacrosse) - Sara Koenig, Administrative Assistant for Men's Lacrosse

Class of 1986 Dan Andrews Award (Sportsmanship & Community Service) - Joe Costigan, Red-shirt Freshman, Midfielder

Kevin Reichardt Memorial Award (Most Improved Player) - Jordan Smith, Junior, Close Defenseman

Ralph T. "Rip" Davy, III Memorial Award (Senior Leadership) - Senior Class of 2013 (Sean Taylor, Stevie Kirkup, Davey Emala, Kieran McDonald, Stephen Burns, Steven Rastivo, William Scroggs, Marcus Holman)

Dick Baddour Academic Success Award - Matt Shannon, Sophomore, Long-Stick Midfielder

Breschi also acknowledged that three seniors have been elected by their peers on Friday as the captains for the 2014 season.  That cadre of Tar Heel leaders includes three senior midfielders - Ryan Creighton, Cam Wood and Greg McBride.
UNC North Carolina Men's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016