Eric Ebron
Eric Ebron
View larger
Ebron Named To Mackey Award Watch List
Release: 07/08/2013
NEW YORK --- The John Mackey Award has released the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, and North Carolina junior tight end Eric Ebron is one of the candidates. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey recipient will be presented live on Dec. 12, 2013, at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show.Ebron had one of the most prolific seasons in school history in 2012, setting new Carolina records for receptions (40) and receiving yards (625) by a tight end. He also scored four touchdowns and earned second-team All-ACC honors from both the media and the coaches. Entering his junior year, Ebron was a preseason first-team All-ACC and fourth-team All-America selection by Phil Steele.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni including two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers and 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.

Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey Semifinalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at

UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016