Kara Cannizzaro is one of 25 candidates for the Tewaaraton Award, the sport's most prestigious individual honor.
Kara Cannizzaro is one of 25 candidates for the Tewaaraton Award, the sport's most prestigious individual honor.
View larger
Cannizzaro Named Tewaaraton Nominee
Release: 04/26/2013

CHAPEL HILL - North Carolina senior midfielder Kara Cannizzaro is one of 25 nominees nationally for the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the National Player of the Year. 

Twenty-five women and 25 men were selected as nominees, from which the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award 10 finalists (five women, five men) will be selected and honored May 30, 2013, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

Four Tar Heel women have been finalists for the Tewaaraton Award, including Becky Lynch (2012), Jenn Russell (2010), Amber Falcone (2009) and Christine McPike (2002).

The women's award nominees include players from 16 schools, including 2012 winner Katie Schwarzmann (Maryland) and representatives from 13 of the current Top 20 teams in the April 22 IWLCA Division I Poll. Florida (Kitty Cullen, 2012 finalist Brittany Dashiell, Shannon Gilroy, Mikey Meagher) and Maryland (Alex Aust, Iliana Sanza, Schwarzmann) and Syracuse (Becca Block, Alyssa Murray, 2012 finalist Michelle Tumolo) lead all schools with four, three and three nominees respectively.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. This is The Year of the Mohawk and the men's nominees include a member of the Akwesasne Mohawk Nation in Ty Thompson and a member of the Onondaga Nation in his cousin Lyle Thompson.


Women's nominees are as follows:

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison - Sr., A

Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A

Becca Block, Syracuse - Sr., D

Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M

Demmianne Cook, Stony Brook - Sr., M

Kitty Cullen, Florida - Sr., A

Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins - Jr., A

Brittany Dashiell, Florida - Sr., M

Jasmine DePompeo, Navy - Sr., A

Danielle Etrasco, Boston University - Sr., A

Erin Fitzgerald, Northwestern - Sr., A

Shannon Gilroy, Florida - Soph., M

Kerrin Maurer, Duke - Soph., A

Maggie McCormick, Penn State - Soph., A

Mikey Meagher, Florida - Sr., GK

Alyssa Murray, Syracuse - Jr., A

Marlee Paton, Loyola - Jr., M

Mikaela Rix, Boston College - Soph., M

Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D

Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame - Soph., D

Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown - Soph., A

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern - Sr., M

Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse - Sr., A

Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D


UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016