Sloane Serpe earned All-ACC honors for the second year in a row.
Sloane Serpe earned All-ACC honors for the second year in a row.
View larger
Five Tar Heels Named All-ACC
Release: 04/24/2013

CHAPEL HILL - Five North Carolina Tar Heel players highlight the 20-member 2013 All-ACC Women's Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office.  Tar Heels Kara Cannizzaro, Abbey Friend and Sloane Serpe all earned the honors for the second year in a row, and Brittney Coppa and Emily Garrity were on the team for the first time. The team is determined by a vote of the league's six head coaches.

The quintet of Tar Heels on the All-ACC squad ties the single-season school record set in 1998 (Erin McGinnis, Sarah Dacey, Debbie Castine, Aubrey Falk and Gray MacNair), 2009 (Amber Falcone, Megan Bosica, Logan Ripley, Jenn Russell and Kristen Taylor) and 2012 (Cannizzaro, Friend, Serpe, Becky Lynch and Laura Zimmerman).

To see the full team, click here.

Maryland, which finished off a perfect 17-0 regular season and is the top seed in this week's tournament, is joined by Duke and Carolina with a conference-leading five representatives. Virginia has three players recognized, and two Boston College Eagles garnered accolades.

Eight student-athletes earned repeat recognition. Maryland's Katie Schwarzmann becomes the third player in league history to be named All-ACC four times in a career, joining Boston College's Kristin Igoe and Maryland's Karri Ellen Johnson. Boston College's Covie Stanwick and Mikaela Rix, Maryland's Alex Aust and Iliana Sanza, and North Carolina's Friend, Cannizzaro, and Serpe all were recognized for a second time.  

The 2013 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship gets underway Thursday with the quarterfinals at 1 and 3 p.m. at Fetzer Field at the University of North Carolina. The semifinals will be held at 1 and 3 p.m. on Friday, with the championship game on Sunday at 5 p.m. All five games can be seen on the league's Regional Sports Networks, which include FOX

Sports South, FOX Sports Florida, Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, and NESN. For more information on the ACC Championship, visit:

Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the ACC Championship.

UNC North Carolina Women's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016