Joey Sankey was among two Tar Heels named to the 2013 All-ACC men's lacrosse team.
Joey Sankey was among two Tar Heels named to the 2013 All-ACC men's lacrosse team.
View larger
Pair of Tar Heels Named All-ACC
Release: 04/24/2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Six student-athletes on the Tewaaraton Award watch list highlight this year's All-ACC Men's Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office. The team is determined by a vote of the league's four head coaches.

North Carolina is represented on the team by senior attackman Marcus Holman of Baltimore, Md. and sophomore attackman Joey Sankey of Warminster, Pa.

North Carolina's Marcus Holman leads the conference and is fourth in the country in points per game (4.77) and repeated as a member of the All-ACC Team. Teammate Joey Sankey garnered his first career accolade.

Duke, Maryland, and Virginia are tied for the conference lead with three representatives apiece. North Carolina had two players recognized.
The 2013 ACC Men's Lacrosse Championship gets underway Friday with the semifinals at 5 and 7:30 p.m. at Kenan Stadium at the University of North Carolina. The championship game will be held Sunday at 1 p.m., and all three games can be seen on ESPNU. For more information on the ACC Championship, visit:
Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the ACC Championship.
2013 Men's Lacrosse All-ACC Team
Brendan Fowler, Junior, Midfield, Duke
David Lawson, Senior, Midfield, Duke
Jordan Wolf*, Junior, Attack, Duke
Jesse Bernhardt*, Senior, LSM, Maryland
John Haus*, Senior, Midfield, Maryland
Niko Amato*, Junior, Goalie, Maryland
Joey Sankey, Sophomore, Attack, North Carolina
Marcus Holman*, Senior, Attack, North Carolina

Mark Cockerton, Junior, Attack, Virginia
Nick O'Reilly, Junior, Attack, Virginia
Scott McWilliams*, Junior, Defense, Virginia
* 2013 Tewaaraton Award Candidates

UNC North Carolina Men's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016