Award Caps Best-Ever Academic Semester
Release: 03/04/2013

The UNC field hockey team has been honored with a 2012 National Academic Team Award, given by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. The awards, announced Monday, go to Division I programs that achieved a team grade point average of 3.0 or better for the fall 2012 semester. A total of 63 teams, including all six Atlantic Coast Conference squads, earned the honor.

The Tar Heels posted a team GPA of 3.2 last fall as they won their second consecutive ACC Championship and finished as the NCAA runner-up with a record of 23-2. The overall GPA marked the best academic semester in program history and nine players - one-third of the roster - earned Dean's List honors.

Those named to the Dean's List for the fall 2012 semester were Emma Bozek, Casey Di Nardo, Emily Kole, Meghan Lyons, Marta Malmberg, Katie Plyler, Tyler Powell, Loren Shealy and Emily Wold.

UNC North Carolina Field Hockey

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016