Amber Brooks (#22) is one of 30 candidates for the Senior CLASS Award.
Amber Brooks (#22) is one of 30 candidates for the Senior CLASS Award.
View larger
Brooks, Goodwin Named Senior CLASS Candidates
Release: 09/18/2012

(September 18, 2012)

OVERLAND PARK, Kansas - The University of North Carolina's senior midfielder/defender Amber Brooks and senior goalkeeper Scott Goodwin were amongst 60 NCAA® men's and women's soccer student-athletes selected as candidates Tuesday for the 2012 Senior CLASS Awards® in collegiate soccer.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

Brooks is a two-time UNC captain and has started all four years at Carolina.  She is a native of New Hope, Pa.  She is vying to become the fifth Tar Heel to be named a Senior CLASS Finalist, joining Jessica Maxwell in 2007, Yael Averbuch in 2008, Kristi Eveland in 2009 and Ali Hawkins in 2010.  Hawkins won the award in 2010.  She became the second Tar Heel to win a Senior CLASS Award, joining Tyler Hansbrough of men's basketball in 2009.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The 2012 candidate class includes 14 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-Americans from last season. More than half of the 60 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Seven of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2011 Capital One Academic All-Americans. Five student-athletes participated in the 2011 NCAA Men's or Women's College Cups®. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2012 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup championships. The Women's College Cup will take place November 30 and December 2 in San Diego, while the Men's College Cup will take place December 7 and 9 in Hoover, Ala.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

Men's Soccer Candidates

Carlos Alvarez, Connecticut

James Belshaw, Duke

Ashton Bennett, Coastal Carolina

Steven Birnbaum, California

Scott Caldwell, Akron

Machael David, UC Santa Barbara

Johnny Dreshaj, Oakland

Shawn Ferguson, Charleston

Peyton Ford, North Carolina-Greensboro

Scott Goodwin, North Carolina

Anthony Hobbs, Florida International

Ryan Hollingshead, UCLA

Deion Jones, Florida Gulf Coast

Taylor Kemp, Maryland

Ryan McDuff, Brown

Brian McGue, Davidson

Peter McKeown, Loyola (Illinois)

Luis Ocejo, Stetson

Cameron Omsberg, Lehigh

Jannis Opalka, Siena

Liam Paddock, UMBC

Everett Pitts, UC Irvine

Dillon Powers, Notre Dame

Eric Schoenle, West Virginia

Yannick Smith, Old Dominion

Donnie Smith, Charlotte

Blake Smith, New Mexico

Bobby Thalman, Yale

Grant Van De Casteele, Notre Dame

Kyle Zobeck, Valparaiso

Women's Soccer Candidates

Caitlin Alves, Hartford

Alex Balcer, Long Beach State

Mallory Baum, Southern Methodist

Bailey Brandon, Central Michigan

Amber Brooks, North Carolina

Tara Campbell, Duke

Allie Chandler, Arkansas

Anina Cicerone, Western Michigan

Lauren Costa, Montana

Abi Cottam, Rider

Adrianna AD Franch, Oklahoma State

Natalia Gaitan, Toledo

Cynthia Jacobo, Cal State Northridge

Tishia Jewell, Central Florida

Scout Libke, Oregon

Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, Brigham Young

Kylie Louw, Stephen F. Austin State

Ally Miller, Marquette

Caroline Miller, Virginia

Mariah Nogueira, Stanford

Natalie Norris, Utah State

Mallory Schaffer, William and Mary

Sarah Schaidle, Charleston

Nichole Schiro, Loyola (Maryland)

Lauren Smedley, Lafayette

Clare Stachel, Michigan

Erika Tymrak, Florida

Beth West, Texas A&M

Colleen Williams, Dayton

Kathryn Williamson, Florida

UNC North Carolina Women's Soccer

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016