Kieran McDonald earned All-ACC Academic honors for the third straight year.
Kieran McDonald earned All-ACC Academic honors for the third straight year.
View larger
Eight Tar Heels Named All-ACC Academic
Release: 06/26/2013
GREENSBORO, N.C. - Eight members of the University of North Carolina men's lacrosse team have been named to the All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

With eight selections, North Carolina had the second most of any school in the league named to this year's squad.  Junior midfielder Frankie Kelly and senior defenseman Kieran McDonald were both named All-ACC Academic for the third successive year.

Kelly and McDonald were joined on the team by sophomore attackmen Jimmy Bitter and Joey Sankey, sophomore defensemen Jake Bailey and Matt Shannon, freshman defenseman Zach Powers and freshman midfielder Jake Matthai.  Bailey and Sankey both earned All-ACC Academic Honors for a second successive school year.
To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.
2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team
Jake Bailey (2), North Carolina, So., Journalism
Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina, So., Journalism
Frankie Kelly (3), North Carolina, Jr., Business Administration
Jake Matthai, North Carolina, Fr., Communication Studies
Kieran McDonald (3), North Carolina, Sr., Business Administration
Zach Powers, North Carolina, Fr., Business Administration
Joey Sankey (2), North Carolina, So., Journalism
Matt Shannon, North Carolina, So., Journalism
(#) - Career ACC Academic honors

UNC North Carolina Men's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016