Play Video
Katie Nolan (right) and Chris Munnelly of the baseball team were named winners of the McCaskill Awards.
Katie Nolan (right) and Chris Munnelly of the baseball team were named winners of the McCaskill Awards.
View larger
Nolan & Rudolph Earn Top UNC Honors
Release: 05/02/2013

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - North Carolina swimmers Jackie Rudolph and Katie Nolan were amongst the big winners at this Monday night's Rammy Awards held at Memorial Hall.

Nolan is a senior from Hershey, Pa., while Rudolph is a senior from Virginia Beach, Va.  They were named winners of long-time UNC Athletic Department Awards - the McCaskill Award and the ACC Senior Scholarship Award.

Details about these awards specifically and all of the 2013 Rammy Award winners follow.

Mildred McCaskill Award

The award recognizes senior student-athletes, one male and one female, who demonstrate excellence in athletics, scholarship and service to the community.

Recipients were Chris Munnelly (baseball) and Katie Nolan (swimming)

ACC Senior Scholar Award

The award goes to one male and one female student-athlete from each ACC school who demonstrate the highest excellence in academics and athletics.

Recipients were Pete Mangum (football) and Jackie Rudolph (swimming)

Other award winners were:

John Lotz Award

The award recognizes a student-athlete who best exemplifies the spirit of the late John Lotz, who served as UNC's Assistant Athletic Director of Campus and Community Relations and also was an assistant basketball coach for the Tar Heels. Winners have succeeded under adverse circumstances, overcoming difficulties while maintaining a positive attitude.

Recipients were Tierra Ruffin-Pratt (women's basketball), Gina Suarez-Malaguti (women's tennis) and Sylvester Williams (football)

ACC Top Six for Service Awards

The awards are presented to six student-athletes or teams at each ACC school who demonstrate dedication and commitment to community service and outreach programs.  

Recipients were Zoe Skinner (women's lacrosse), Breada Farrell (women's lacrosse) and Tristine Johnson (women's track and field), as well as three teams: men's lacrosse, rowing and gymnastics.

For the first time, Rammy Awards were given to student-athletes in several categories. Winners were:

Male Athlete of the Year: Jonathan Cooper, football

Female Athlete of the Year: Crystal Dunn, women's soccer

Outstanding Male Newcomer: Skye Bolt, baseball

Outstanding Female Newcomer: Hanna Gardner, soccer, and Whitney Kay, tennis

Outstanding Championship Performance: Kealia Ohai, women's soccer

Breakthrough Male Athlete: P.J. Hairston, basketball

Breakthrough Female Athlete: Gina Suarez-Malaguti

Best Upset: Women's Tennis, which won the ITA National Team Indoor Championships in February

Most Outstanding Team: Women's Soccer, the 2012 NCAA Champion

Best Play: Giovani Bernard, football, for his 74-yard punt return vs. NC State

Record-Breaking Performance: Scott Goodwin, men's soccer

"This year has been very successful for our teams - athletically, academically and in terms of the impact they've had on our community," UNC Director of Athletics Bubba Cunningham said. "This event gave us the opportunity to celebrate those successes."
UNC North Carolina Swimming & Diving

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016