R.G. Keenan is one of three Tar Heels named to the Tewaaraton Watch List.
R.G. Keenan is one of three Tar Heels named to the Tewaaraton Watch List.
View larger
Three Tar Heels On Tewaaraton Watch List
Release: 02/22/2013

WASHINGTON  - The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award men's watch list with three Tar Heel and a total of 13 ACC student-athletes recognized.  Tar Heels named to the comprehensive Watch List include sophomore attackman Jimmy Bitter, senior attackman Marcus Holman and junior midfielder R.G. Keenan.

The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men's and women's nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men's and five women's finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.
Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men's watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.
ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Men's Watch List
Niko Amato, Maryland - Jr., G
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland - Sr., LSM
Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina - Soph., A
Josh Dionne, Duke - Jr., A
Rob Emery, Virginia - Jr., M
John Haus, Maryland - Sr., M
Marcus Holman, North Carolina - Sr., A
R.G. Keenan, North Carolina - Jr., FO

Chris LaPierre, Virginia - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Jr., D
Christian Walsh, Duke - Jr., A
Matt White, Virginia - Sr., M
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Jr., A

UNC North Carolina Men's Lacrosse

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016