Bill Guthridge
Bill Guthridge
View larger
Four Tar Heels In N.C. HOF Class
Release: 01/07/2013

CHAPEL HILL - University of North Carolina tailback Kelvin Bryant and basketball coach Bill Guthridge are among four Tar Heels in the 11-person Class of 2013 that will be enshrined in the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame.

The 50th annual induction banquet is Thursday, May 2nd, at the Raleigh Convention Center.

Joining Bryant and Guthridge in the Class of 2013 are former Tar Heel sports information director Bob Quincy and longtime photojournalist Hugh Morton, a UNC student in the early 1940s who went on to chronicle the history of Carolina and Atlantic Coast Conference athletics more than 60 years.

Other inductees in the class of 2013 include Ron Francis, Wade Garrett, Tommy Helms, Marion Kirby, Rich McGeorge, Marty Sheets and Mildred Southern.

Bryant, a native of Tarboro, rushed for 3,267 yards from 1979-82, finishing his career as the Tar Heels' third-leading rusher. He averaged 5.5 yards per carry and rushed for 32 scores. He is one of only three Tar Heels to rush for 1,000 yards in at least three seasons. He gained 1,039 as a sophomore, 1,015 as a junior and 1,064 as a senior. He rushed for 211 yards on just 19 carries and set the ACC single-game record with six touchdowns in the 1981 season opener against East Carolina. He added nine more touchdowns over the next two weeks against Miami of Ohio and Boston College. He was a first-team All-ACC selection in 1980, 1981 and 1982 and went on to play professionally in the USFL (earning the league's player of the year honor in 1983) and NFL with the Washington Redskins.

Guthridge led the Tar Heels to two Final Fours in three seasons as head coach and was consensus National Coach of the Year in 1998. He won more games than any college head coach in history after two seasons and tied Everett Case for most coaching victories after three years. He played or coached in 14 Final Fours, more than any person in NCAA history. That includes two as a head coach at Carolina, 10 as a Tar Heel assistant coach, and one each as a player and assistant coach at his alma mater, Kansas State.

The Parsons, Kan., native posted an 80-28 record in three seasons as Carolina's head coach. He directed UNC to the 1998 Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament championship and was named the ACC Coach of the Year.

Guthridge was Dean Smith's assistant for 30 years. He joined the UNC staff in 1967 after five years as assistant to Tex Winter at Kansas State. In his 33 seasons at Carolina, the Tar Heels won two NCAA championships (1982 and 1993), played in 12 Final Fours, won the ACC Tournament championship 13 times and played in the ACC Tournament championship game a total of 22 times. He was a part of 867 wins in 33 seasons at Carolina and 960 college coaching victories overall, including 93 wins on the staff at Kansas State.

A member of the North Carolina Journalism Hall of FameQuincy won the state's Sportswriter of the Year award five times. He was an undergraduate at UNC before leaving to fly 30 combat missions over Europe in a B-17 bomber during World War II. He began his newspaper career at the Rocky Mount Telegram and later became sports editor of the Charlotte News. He was sports information director at UNC from 1962 until 1966, before returning to Charlotte to work in radio and television. Quincy was hired as sports columnist for the Charlotte Observer in 1971 and remained on that staff until his death in 1984. The UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication offers the Bob Quincy Memorial Scholarship. Quincy authored two books, including one on Tar Heel football star Charlie "Choo Choo" Justice. 

Morton was a many-faceted man who turned Grandfather Mountain into one of the state's treasures. As a fierce defender of nature, he was one of North Carolina's most staunch conservationists. Morton was also a world-class photographer, which placed him squarely into the state's sports realm. His vast collection of photographs includes perhaps one of the most extensive sports collections in the nation, and it documents the men and women who have close ties to both the ACC and the Southern Conference. Morton served as a board member and past president of the N.C. Sports Hall of Fame.  

Morton photographed Carolina football and basketball from the 1940s to the 2000s, capturing a countless number of the most iconic images in Tar Heel history. From Justice to Don McCauley, Dean Smith, Phil Ford, Michael Jordan and Vince Carter, Morton's images captured them all on film.

Ticket information for the induction banquet is available at or by calling (919) 845-3455. The N.C. Sports Hall of Fame is located at  5 East Edenton Street in Raleigh, was established in 1963. The permanent exhibit N.C. Sports Hall of Fame at the N.C. Museum of History features significant artifacts donated by the inductees. The museum is open Monday through Saturday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from noon to 5 p.m. Admission is free.      

 "The achievements of this year's class of inductees enrich our state's remarkable sports heritage, and they certainly earned the honor of joining the 289 men and women who have been previously enshrined," said Dr. Janie Brown, president of the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame. " This is our 50th class and we will have a program to celebrate this special time in our state's sports history." 


University of North Carolina Members of the NC Sports Hall of Fame

George Barclay (football)

Jim Beatty (track)

Furman Bisher (media)

Pete Brennan (basketball)

Kelvin Bryant (football)

Jack Cobb (basketball)

Brad Daugherty (basketball)

Walter Davis (basketball)

Anson Dorrance (soccer)

Bill Dooley (football)

Woody Durham (media)

Chuck Erickson (AD)

Bob Fetzer (AD)

Raymond Floyd (golf)

Phil Ford (basketball)

Bill Guthridge (basketball)

Dee Hardison (football)

Sylvia Hatchell (women's basketball)

Bunn Hearn (baseball)

Ken Huff (football)

Bobby Jones (basketball)

Michael Jordan (basketball)

Charlie Justice (football)

Clyde King (baseball)

Page Marsh (golf)

Robert McAdoo (basketball)

Don McCauley (football)

Monk McDonald (basketball)

Bones McKinney (basketball)

Allen Morris (tennis)

Hugh Morton (photo journalism)

Bob Quincy (sports information)

Walter Rabb (baseball)

Lennie Rosenbluth (basketball)

Lee Shaffer (basketball)

Karen Shelton (field hockey)

Chunk Simmons (track)

Irwin Smallwood (media)

Dean Smith (basketball)

Ed Sutton (football)

John Swofford (football, director of athletics)

Danny Talbott (football/baseball)

Jake Wade (media)

Tony Waldrop (track)

Sue Walsh (swimming)

Harvie Ward (golf)

Art Weiner (football)

Carla Werden (women's soccer)

Burgess Whitehead (baseball)

Roy Williams (basketball)

Harry Williamson (track)

James Worthy (basketball)

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016