basketball calendar 2016-17 Learfield
Men's Basketball mm
The 1957 team won the NCAA title after an undefeated season.
The 1957 team won the NCAA title after an undefeated season.
View larger
UNC Dots March Madness Celebration
Release: 12/11/2012

CHAPEL HILL - As a portion of its celebration of 75 years of "March Madness" at the NCAA basketball tournament, the NCAA announced today its top 75 All-Time March Madness Players, 25 All-Time March Madness Teams and 35 All-Time March Madness Moments.  


Beginning in January, fans will be able to vote for the moments via the NCAA’s website.  Tar Heel players and teams dotted the NCAA’s honorees.


The four UNC squads among the top 25 teams were 1956-57, 1981-82, 1992-93 and 2008-09.  Only UCLA, with five teams, had more than Carolina’s four.  No other school had more than two and no other ACC school had more than one squad on the list.

The six Tar Heels among the top 75 players included Lennie Rosenbluth, James Worthy, Michael Jordan, Antawn Jamison, Sean May and Tyler Hansbrough.

Jordan’s game-winning shot to win the 1982 championship against Georgetown is one of the top 35 moments.




UNC North Carolina Men's Basketball

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016