Play Video
Top Drawer Soccer National Player of the Year Amber Brooks
Top Drawer Soccer National Player of the Year Amber Brooks
View larger
Brooks Named TDS Player of the Season
Release: 11/29/2012

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - North Carolina senior midfielder Amber Brooks has been named's Player of the Year for the 2012 as announced Wednesday by the website's editors.  She is the third Tar Heel in history to have earned the honor, joining Yael Averbuch (2006) and Casey Nogueira (2008) in being honored by one of college soccer's premier websites.

Altogether, five Tar Heels were honored by Top Drawer Soccer on Wednesday.  Brooks, a senior midfielder from New Hope, Pa., was joined on TDS's first-team All-America squad by junior forward/midfielder Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.).  The 11-player first team includes seven individuals who will play in this weekend's NCAA College Cup in San Diego, Calif. ­- two each from Stanford, UNC and Penn State and one from Florida State.

Top Drawer Soccer's third-team All-America squad features UNC junior forward Kealia Ohai (Draper, Utah).  Also on Wednesday both Dunn and Ohai were named as semifinalists for the 2012 Hermann Trophy presented by the Missouri Athletic Club. also names separate All-America Teams for freshmen and two Tar Heels were honored on those squads.  Freshman forward Summer Green (Milford, Mich.) was named to the first team while freshman defender Hanna Gardner (Chapel Hill, N.C.) was chosen for the second-team Freshman All-America squad.

In winning player of the year honors, Brooks has started all 21 Tar Heel games this season and is Carolina's second-leading scorer with seven goals and six assists.  Her 20 points in a season are a career high for the playmaking center midfielder, topping the 16 points she had as a sophomore in 2010.  Brooks leads UNC in game-winning goals with three.  She was named first-team All-ACC for the second year in a row earlier this year after making the second-team as a freshman.

UNC North Carolina Women's Soccer

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016