Anderson Nominated For Broyles Award
Release: 11/21/2012

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. - North Carolina offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Blake Anderson is one of 29 nominees for the 2012 Broyles Award, which is given annually to the nation's top assistant coach.  Anderson is in his first season with the Tar Heels.  Under his direction, the Tar Heels are on pace to set single-season records for scoring average, passing offense per game and total offense per game.  

The Tar Heels are third in the ACC and 11th in the country with a 40.2 scoring average.  The single-season school record for points per game is 35.1 set in 1993.  Carolina has scored 30 or more points in eight of 11 games this season.  UNC has scored 43 or more points in games against Idaho (66), Elon (65), Georgia Tech (50), Virginia Tech (48) and NC State (43).  The Tar Heels also scored 30 at Duke, 34 at Louisville and 37 at Virginia.

At home, Carolina is averaging 49.3 points per game in six contests.  

Carolina is third in the ACC and 17th in the country in total offense, averaging 484.2 yards of offense per game.  As long as Carolina registers positive yardage against Maryland, the Tar Heels will top the single-season school record of 441.8 set in 1983.  Carolina has accumulated 500 or more yards of total offense four times this season - 524 vs. Elon, 575 vs. Idaho, 533 vs. Virginia Tech and 570 vs. NC State.  Carolina’s fewest yards this season was 410 vs. Louisville.

The Tar Heels are third in the ACC and 26th in the nation in passing offense, averaging 290.5 passing yards per game.  The single-season school record of 266.6 was set in 2002.  QB Bryn Renner has thrown for more than 300 yards in each of the last three games.

The Broyles Award is proud to announce the nominees for the 2012 Broyles Award:

  • Rhett Lashlee, Arkansas State University, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
  • Rich Skrosky, Ball State, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Chad Morris, Clemson, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Matt Lubick, Duke University, Passing Game Coordinator; Wide Receivers Coach
  • Dan Quinn, Florida, Defensive Coordinator
  • Mark Stoops, Florida State University, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
  • Nick Toth, Fresno State, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Mike Bobo, Georgia, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Charles Kelly, Georgia Tech, Defensive Coordinator
  • Mike Summers, Kentucky, Offensive Line
  • Tony Franklin, Louisiana Tech, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Tim Beck, Nebraska, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Ed Warinner, Ohio State University, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
  • Todd Monken, Oklahoma State, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Mark Banker, Oregon State University, Defensive Coordinator
  • Robb Smith, Rutgers, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach
  • Kent Baer, San Jose State University, Defensive coordinator/Linebackers coach
  • Scott Shafer, Syracuse University, Defensive Coordinator
  • Kliff Kingsbury, Texas A&M, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
  • Art Kaufman, Texas Tech University, Defensive Coordinator
  • Noel Mazzone, UCLA, Offensive Coordinator / Quarterbacks Coach
  • Bobby Williams, University of Alabama, Tight Ends/Special Teams
  • Calvin Magee, University of Arizona, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Running Backs
  • Brent Key, University of Central Florida, Assistant Head Coach/Offensive Line Coach
  • Greg Mattison, University of Michigan, Defensive Coordinator
  • Blake Anderson, University of North Carolina, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
  • Bob Diaco, University of Notre Dame,Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Lorenzo Ward, University of South Carolina, Defensive Coordinator
  • Dave Aranda, Utah State University, Defensive Coordinator

More information:

              The 5 finalists for the 2012 Broyles Award will be announced on Monday, November 26. The 2012 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4 at 11:30 a.m. at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, AR. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2011 Broyles Award was John Chavis, Louisiana State University.

              The Broyles Award honors the top assistant college football coach in America and was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

For more information, visit or search for Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

UNC North Carolina Football

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016