Frances Reuland
Frances Reuland
View larger
Frances Reuland Captures NCAA Elite 90 Award
Release: 12/01/2016
SAN JOSE, CALIF. - University of North Carolina junior midfielder Frances Reuland of Chapel Hill, N.C. has been named the NCAA Elite 90 Award winner for women's soccer for the 2016-17 school year.

The award, presented at the NCAA Women's Soccer Championship banquet Thursday evening, recognizes the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average competing at each championship site.

Reuland has a double major in Spanish and Environmental Studies while pursuing a minor in chemistry.  She maintains a perfect 4.0 grade point average. Reuland is in her second season on the team as a varsity player after earning a spot on the roster in spring practice 2015.

Reuland is now one of eight Tar Heel student-athletes to have won the NCAA Elite 90 award on 10 occasions. Bill Dworsky was the men's soccer winner in 2009 and Kristi Eveland won for women's soccer the same year. Meredith Newton won for women's lacrosse in 2010 and Marta Malmberg won for field hockey in 2011. Loren Shealy of the Tar Heel field hockey team was one of three Tar Heels to win in 2012, joining Caitlin Ball (women's soccer) and Paige Hanson (women's lacrosse).  Shealy went on to win the award two more times while playing for Carolina field hockey, winning the honor in 2013 and 2014 as well.

The Tar Heels are playing in the NCAA College Cup this weekend at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, Calif.  UNC meets West Virginia in the semifinals on Friday at 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST).  The game will be nationally televised on ESPNU.

The Elite 90, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s championships.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

For more information on the Elite 90 award winners, log on to

UNC North Carolina Women's Soccer

NCEMC Touchstone Ad 2016